TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,746 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Cooler Master CM 690 III with Seidon 120 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - A Well-Priced Bundle Kit - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master CM 690 III with Seidon 120 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - A Well-Priced Bundle Kit

Cooler Master has the right idea. Since they offer AIO and cases, why not put them together in one package? That's just what they did here.

| Editorials in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 7, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_28_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

To get the bay cover out of the front bezel, it does need removed from the chassis. While looking inside the bezel, we also found a removable dust filter for the section below, and we can also get a clear view of that 200mm fan installed here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_29_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

With the drive now in place, and the front bezel snapped back onto the chassis, it does look much like where we started. The drive does break up the looks a fair bit, but I have yet to see a mesh covered drive on retail shelves, so this is something we just have to deal with.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_30_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

We ran into no issues in the build process either. Doing a bit of planning allowed us to get everything installed, things moved around to fit the AIO, and with the HDD cage now gone, we also get up to 423mm of room for video cards.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_31_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

To install the Seidon 120, we moved the rear fan to the top, and with little effort it all fell into place. There was plenty of room to get the back plate in through the back, and installing the radiator and head unit was simple as well.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_32_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

Around the back of the chassis, we had no issues getting the dust shield snapped in; the video card installs here fine, and the PSU caused no hassles either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_33_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

With the amount of room afforded behind the motherboard tray, there really is little to limit where you run the wiring. We took the most direct routes for the cabling, and it leaves the 2.5" drive location open to accepts an SSD, so the HDD rack could be fully removed for water cooling needs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_34_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

Before we add any power, this is what you end up with when the build is completed. If not for the new view of hardware through the window, and the fact that the drive stands out against the mesh, we have the same sleek and sophisticated styling that impressed us originally.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_35_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

When we did add the power cord and booted the system up, the slight hum of fans delivering 33 dB of noise a foot away from the chassis is the only thing to tell you it is on. This is because the pair of white LEDs for the power button and HDD activity is hidden under the top cover.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_36_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

Other ways we could tell with this sample was in two specific ways. Initially there was air in the head unit, and we opened it up and made sure to fix that simply by rotating the chassis a bit to work the air out. The other was the cool little addition of the blue LED under the cover that lets you know that it has power and it is running.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases