TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,093 Reviews & Articles | 39,121 News Posts

Cooler Master CM 690 III with Seidon 120 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - A Well-Priced Bundle Kit - Cooler Master CM 690III and Seidon 120 Bundle

Cooler Master CM 690 III with Seidon 120 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - A Well-Priced Bundle Kit
Cooler Master has the right idea. Since they offer AIO and cases, why not put them together in one package? That's just what they did here.
| Editorials in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 7, 2014 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

Cooler Master CM 690III and Seidon 120 Bundle

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_07_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

Fresh out of the box and looking it dead in the face, we see a whole lot of steel mesh running from the bottom, up past the logo, and right through the three bay covers as it bends to meet the top of the chassis. To the sides there are thick strips of black plastic that are both trimmed with chrome at the outer edges.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_08_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

As the mesh rolls over and terminates at the top of the chassis, we see a shiny black cover to protect the I/O panel, and the little cubby they offer there. As you continue back, we see more of that mesh at the back, which can be removed to access mounting holes.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_09_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

The top panel simply slides back for access to the USB 3.0, HD Audio jacks, and USB 2.0 connections, or to power or reset the system. Behind that is a tray to stash some goodies too, but remember, the lid does not lock; in fact, it can slide right off the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_10_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

The left side of the chassis offers tight lines where the top meets the frame, as well as where the panels meet the front and frame. Also, there is a very large side window, but it stops short to the right to block any view of the bays.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_11_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

At the top there is a thumbscrew to allow the top to be removed. As we move down, we find the rear I/O and the 120mm exhaust fan, along with three grommets for water cooling and wiring to pass out of the chassis. Then there is the seven plus one arrangement of expansion slots, which leaves room for a PSU at the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_12_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

The right side of the chassis is painted with the same textured midnight black paint as the rest of the chassis and its interior. There is a large bump in the panel to add quite a bit of room for more wiring behind the motherboard tray.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6056_13_cooler_master_cm_690_iii_with_seidon_120_mid_tower_chassis_review_a_well_priced_bundle_kit.jpg

 

The bottom of the chassis offers long rectangular plastic feet that have rubber strips applied; this is one of the stickiest cases we have tried to slide around on glass. There is also a dust filter that will slide out the back of the chassis, and at the front there are four screws holding in the bottom section of the HDD bays.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases