TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,490 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD5TH (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE Z87X-UD5TH (Intel Z87) Motherboard

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD5TH (Intel Z87) Motherboard Review
Shawn spends some time with the dual Thunderbolt wielding Z87X-UD5TH motherboard from GIGABYTE. Is this featured packed board worth buying? Read on. (TPE:2376)
| Socket LGA 1150 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 29, 2014 12:04 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Z87X-UD5TH (Intel Z87) Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_08_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the package, and onto the board, you can see the typical matte black design that we so often see from GIGABYTE. It's a great color, and against the red highlights we really end up with a board that looks great. Let's move in a little closer to see just exactly what's going on today though.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_09_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Checking out the expansion slots, you can see we've got a single legacy PCIe, two PCIe x1 slots, along with a single mini-PCI Express slot for a wireless communication module, and three PCIe x16 slots. As for the setup of these slots, the top one runs at x16, unless the second one is used, in which case they will both run at x8. If the second and third slots are used, the final setup would be x8/x4/x4.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_10_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Before we move to the bottom of the board, we're just going to quickly move above the top most PCIe slot. Here, you can see a Mini PCIe card, which offers us Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac, along with Bluetooth 4.0 support.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_11_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the bottom of the board, you can see a fairly standard array of headers. On the far right, you can see our main front panel header, along with one of three fan headers. We've got a single USB 3.0 header, three USB 3.0 headers, and a front panel audio header to round off the main ones.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_12_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we turn the corner, you can see we've got a total of eight SATA ports being offered. All are SATA III, although the six black ones run off the Z87 chipset. As for the two grey ones, they run off the Marvell 88SE9172 chip. Next to this, we can also see a SATA power connector. This is used if you're opting to make use of SLI to provide more power to the PCIe slots.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_13_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading to the top half of the board, you can see our main 24-Pin ATX power connector, USB 3.0 header, and a LED Debug reader together. In the top corner, you can see a power button along with a reset and BIOS switch. We've got the standard four DIMM slots, which offer us support for up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging from 1333MHz DDR to 3000MHz DDR via overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_14_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_15_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the RAM slots, and into the CPU area, you can see we've got a very clean setup going on, as usual. You can also see another look at our mini PCIe Wi-Fi / Bluetooth card, and the heat sink design that uses the red highlights that look really fantastic. In the top corner, you can see we've got our 8-Pin CPU power connector.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6041_16_gigabyte_z87x_ud5th_intel_z87_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally, we finish up with the I/O side of things. Starting from the left, we've got our combo PS/2 port, along with two of the six USB 3.0 ports. You can see our two ports that are used for our Antenna that is included in the package. Below that you can see a single DVI-I port, and next to that a HDMI 1.4a port.

 

Moving along, you can see we've got a single Gigabit port running off the Intel chipset, and next to that you can see we've got our dual Thunderbolt ports. Finally, we finish up with our five auxiliary ports, along with a single optical port, which all run off the Realtek ALC898 Codec.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases