TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,168 News Posts

Thermaltake Max 5 Duet 2.5-inch Storage Rack Review

Thermaltake Max 5 Duet 2.5-inch Storage Rack Review

In the market for an internal 2.5" hot swap storage rack solution? Join us as we take a look at the Max 5 Duet from Thermaltake.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Jan 31, 2014 3:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_99_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.png

 

As many of you know, Thermaltake has one of the widest product roadmaps in the industry. From chassis and cooling, to power supplies and storage solutions, they manage and refresh as the industry grows.

 

When building or upgrading your computer, you may find yourself wanting to add a bay device to manage your storage. With most of today's enthusiasts gravitating towards SSDs, 2.5" solutions have seen rapid growth in the industry. Because of this, Thermaltake has introduced the Max 5 line-up of hot swap racks.

 

Today, we have the Max 5 Duet in-house for review; it features a 3.5" form factor, feeding dual front accessible 2.5" hot swap bays. MSRP of the Thermaltake Max 5 duet sits at $29.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_02_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.jpg

 

Within the packaging, you will find mounting screws, SATA cables, and reading materials to get you set up quickly.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_03_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.jpg

 

The Max 5 Duet features an aluminium enclosure, with the front locking doors made from plastic. The red tabs at the end of each door slide to unlock and open.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_04_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.jpg

 

The side of the enclosure houses the mounting holes for installation.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_05_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.jpg

 

Moving to the back of the unit, you will find two SATA connections for the drives, and one SATA power connector supplies both drives. In the packaging, there is an adapter for Molex installation.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_06_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.jpg

 

Here, we have installed two SATA SSDs in the Max 5. To remove the drives, you simply pull out on the doors, and the eject mechanism engages.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_10_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.png

 

Above, we have results from testing our SSD using a direct connection to the SATA III ports of our Z77 motherboard. The drive achieves 512 MB/s read, with 461 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_11_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.png

 

We found no performance loss upon putting our drives in the Max 5. Here, we have 510 MB/s read, and 460 MB/s write.

 

As with many storage solutions, the Thermaltake Max 5 Duet offers a golden solution to cleaning up existing wiring inside PC chassis. The build quality of the duet was quite good, with my only complaint being the doors feeling a bit flimsy at the hinge.

 

Performance of the Duet was admirable in that we lost no performance by installing our drives inside, and rightly so as these are simple pass through devices that offer the benefit of space savings, and hot swap ability.

 

In situations where you have a large number of drives that all need and use separate power connections, devices like the Max 5 are invaluable, and provide a way to offset the amount of space and power connections drives use. With the Max 5 Duet, you could reasonably connect eight drives to a single SATA lead from your power supply, where previously only four would fit.

 

The Thermaltake Max 5 Duet carries a MSRP of $29.99, with high market availability. Of course, market pricing and availability may differ at certain times, so we invite you to check current pricing below. The Max 5 Duet carries a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6038_1234_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6038_100_thermaltake_max_5_duet_2_5_inch_storage_rack_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases