TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

GamerStorm Gabriel Low-Profile CPU Cooler Review
In search of a low-profile cooler for your new Mini-ITX or SFF build? GamerStorm offers up the Gabriel, and it is well worth a look.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 15, 2014 2:09 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: GamerStorm

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_22_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The first couple of steps of the installation have been done, and we are almost ready to mount now that we have the Intel mounting legs on the base, and a standoff screwed on to each of the corners. You can also see that GamerStorm took the time to apply washers to the risers, as well as the screws to isolate the cooler from the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_23_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

After applying a bit of paste to the CPU, you just hold the cooler onto the CPU, align the holes, and simply screw the cooler to the motherboard like we have done here.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_24_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The cooler itself sits much lower than the memory, but with the 20mm fan on the top of it, it is just slightly taller, and a great candidate for all of the SFF chassis on the market.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_25_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

There are also no issues with the memory clearance with the orientation we were forced to use, due to the Thermal Armor on this motherboard. The instructions say to point the heat pipes at the memory, and that will encroach on the first DIMM slot.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_26_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Moving back a bit, you can see that the wider section of fins clears even this super tall plastic over the top of other heat sinks for the VRMs on the motherboard. I also like the fan wiring, what little bit you can see anyways.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_27_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

If we had installed the cooler as directed, the bent section of them would push against our Thermal Armor, so we had to spin it around. Even here things were tight as the taller section just clears the plastic, but is still able to fit and be tested.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6005_28_gamerstorm_gabriel_low_profile_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Once we had the system back together, I thought I would snap this image, since most likely, if you have any view inside of the chassis at all, this is what you will see of the Gabriel most times.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases