TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,928 Reviews & Articles | 38,194 News Posts

Samsung 840 EVO 128GB mSATA SSD Review - Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

Samsung 840 EVO 128GB mSATA SSD Review

Following up the review of the impressive 1TB model, today Chris looks at the Samsung 840 EVO 128GB, the smallest EVO mSATA drive on the market. (KRX:005930)

| mSATA in Storage | Posted: Jan 8, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_01_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're just going to roll right through the product packaging images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_02_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_03_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive placement is in the middle of the packaging, so your 840 EVO mSATA is well protected during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_04_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the package, we found a warranty statement summary that doubles as a user manual, two Samsung SSD Activated stickers, and the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_05_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. The label lists the part number, serial number, and capacity size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_06_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The backside has a few surface mount components, but no flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_07_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 120GB model has only two NAND packages, and they are on the main side with the controller and DRAM. There are four 128GB die in each package, so interleaving is limited on the 120GB model.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases