TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,835 News Posts

Samsung 840 EVO 128GB mSATA SSD Review - Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

Samsung 840 EVO 128GB mSATA SSD Review
Following up the review of the impressive 1TB model, today Chris looks at the Samsung 840 EVO 128GB, the smallest EVO mSATA drive on the market. (KRX:005930)
| mSATA in Storage | Posted: Jan 8, 2014 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Samsung

Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_01_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're just going to roll right through the product packaging images.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_02_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_03_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The drive placement is in the middle of the packaging, so your 840 EVO mSATA is well protected during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_04_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the package, we found a warranty statement summary that doubles as a user manual, two Samsung SSD Activated stickers, and the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_05_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the drive. The label lists the part number, serial number, and capacity size.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_06_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The backside has a few surface mount components, but no flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5993_07_samsung_840_evo_128gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 120GB model has only two NAND packages, and they are on the main side with the controller and DRAM. There are four 128GB die in each package, so interleaving is limited on the 120GB model.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases