TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,135 Reviews & Articles | 39,406 News Posts

Intel 530 240GB SSD Review - Intel 530 Series 240GB SSD

Intel 530 240GB SSD Review
Intel released its flagship consumer SSD a few months back, and Chris picked up a retail drive to test. Let's take a close look at it now.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jan 3, 2014 3:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Intel

Intel 530 Series 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_10_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the Intel 530 Series drive. Intel has livened the appearance a bit with a colorful sticker, and polished logo on the top cover.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_11_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The back of the drive is still the same as other Intel consumer SSDs though.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_12_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

To my knowledge, this is Intel's first retail consumer SSD in a 7mm form factor. Some of the older SSDs shipped with a 7mm case, but with an adapter bolted on. You could mod those drives to 7mm, but it required purchasing different screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_13_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_14_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside, we found sixteen Intel 20nm NAND flash packages with 128GB die.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_15_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_16_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Intel used a different version of the LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller with this product. The Intel part number for this controller is BF29AS41BB0. Under the part number, we see LSI, and next to that is the Intel 'I' logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5983_17_intel_530_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The flash is Intel 20nm TSOP packages.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases