TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,928 Reviews & Articles | 38,191 News Posts

SanDisk Optimus Eco Enterprise SAS SSD Review - 4K Random Read/Write

SanDisk Optimus Eco Enterprise SAS SSD Review

SanDisk releases the Optimus Eco to target the read-intensive market; yet the Eco retains many similar characteristics of the Optimus SSDs.

| SSDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Jan 2, 2014 3:03 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: SanDisk

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_14_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

We precondition the Optimus Eco for 18,000 seconds, or five hours, receiving reports on several parameters of workload performance every second. We then plot this data to illustrate the drives' descent into steady state.

 

This chart consists of 36,000 data points. This is a dual-axis chart with the IOPS on the left, and the latency on the right. The red dots signify IOPS during the test, and the light green dots are latency measurements during the test period. We place latency data in a logarithmic scale to bring it into comparison range. The lines through the data scatter are the average during the test. This type of testing presents standard deviation and maximum/minimum I/O in a visual manner.

 

Note that the IOPS and Latency figures are nearly mirror images of each other. This illustrates that high-granularity testing can give our readers a good feel for latency distribution by viewing IOPS at one-second intervals. This should be kept in mind when viewing our test results below.

 

We provide histograms for further latency granularity below. This downward slope of performance happens very few times in the lifetime of the device; typically during the first few hours of use, and we present the precondition results only to confirm steady state convergence.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_15_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

Each QD tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure; one of the most sought-after performance specifications.

 

The Optimus Eco averages 97,092 IOPS, with a 4K random read workload at QD256. This falls just slightly below the Optimus, with 100,290 IOPS. The read speed of the Eco is simply phenomenal, with the full performance of the higher endurance model on tap with the Eco.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_16_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

Garbage collection routines are more pronounced in heavy write workloads; this leads to more variability in performance. The Eco chugs along with an average of 34,424 IOPS, with a bit more variability than the original Optimus, which averages 44,326 IOPS at QD256. When considering price, this is excellent performance for the Eco.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_17_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Eco provides solid performance as we move into the heavier write workloads. Perhaps most interesting is the very similar performance to the original Optimus across the board. It is very clear that these two drives share very similar performance characteristics, in spite of the difference in write endurance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_18_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

The Eco easily outperforms the SATA-powered CloudSpeed 1000E.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_19_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our precondition run. We calculate the stated average results during the last five minutes of the test, after the device has settled into steady state.

 

The Eco hits the sweet spot in power consumption, between the original Optimus and the CloudSpeed 1000E. Dual-port SAS is always going to come with a bit of a power premium due to the nature of the interface, but the inclusion of 19nm NAND helps to bring the power consumption of the Eco down to only 6.21 Watts, well below the 7.48 average of the original Optimus.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5981_20_sandisk_optimus_eco_enterprise_sas_ssd_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our precondition run, and the stated average is from the last five minutes of the test. The CloudSpeed 1000E wins the efficiency challenge due to its SATA interface, but the Optimus Eco and the regular Optimus nearly tie with 5,546, and 5,744 IOPS per Watt, respectively. The higher performance of the original Optimus allows it to squeak by with the win in this test.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases