TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,432 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Angelbird SSD2go Pro 640GB External SSD Review - Packaging and the Angelbird SSD2go Pro

Angelbird SSD2go Pro 640GB External SSD Review
Need a reliable, enterprise-class external storage solution? Read on as we take a look at the new Angelbird SSD2go Pro with SSD storage.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Dec 31, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Angelbird

Packaging and the Angelbird SSD2go Pro

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_02_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Packaging for the Angelbird SSD2go hasn't changed; here, we have the same box used on all SSD2go products.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_03_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Within the packaging, Angelbird has included both USB 3.0 and eSATAp cables for the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_04_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Looking over the drive, we found the same level of quality that we have come to expect from Angelbird. The enclosure is machined out of a single block of aluminum, and then anodized to military specifications using a special process that is actually 100% Green, and Earth friendly.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_05_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

On the backside of the enclosure, we find brand and model identification. Four torx screws hold the enclosure together.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_06_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

The SSD2go Pro uses the special dual purpose connector seen above. Here, we have both USB 3.0, and eSATAp capabilities. The switch to the left controls the function of the underlying controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_07_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Internally, the enclosure is precision machined to the components of the PCB. Similar to what you would find in an enterprise solid state drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_08_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here, we have the USB/eSATAp to SATA 6 GB/s PCB. To the left, we have the ASMedia 1053 UASP capable USB 3.0 controller, and the ASMedia 1456 6 GB/s switch up top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_09_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here, we have a better look at the dual purpose connection for the SSD2go. Using both USB 3.0 through the ASMedia1053 controller and eSATAp being native through the ASMedia1456 switch onboard.

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_10_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

As stated in the introduction, this is the first drive launched with the Novachips "Bugatti" flash controller. Pictured above, we have the NVS3600A, coupled with a 256MB DRAM package, and 10 Micron MLC NAND packages.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5978_11_angelbird_ssd2go_pro_640gb_external_ssd_review.jpg

 

The backside of the drive houses another ten NAND packages, which brings the total up to 20. This bodes well for the Novachips controller, as it is the only 10 channel design on the market.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases