TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,181 News Posts

FSP Aurum Pro 1000-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

FSP Aurum Pro 1000-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review

FSP's Aurum Pro 1000W PSU has been around for quite a while. Let's find out now if everything is golden with this unit or not.

| 80 PLUS Gold PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 20, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: FSP

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_10_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Once we pull the foam off the top of the contents, we are left with this. Everything is well protected, just as you'd hope for.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_11_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

On the top we can see the I/O specification label as well as the rough black texture covering power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_12_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides have the same logos on them along with a small amount of additional cooling in the form of three vent areas.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_13_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

We have the on/off rocker switch along with AC input in the back. Note that this power supply requires a C19 style cable. It is far from necessary, but my guess is that it was cheaper to keep this the same between the 1200W and 1000W models instead of changing it for each one.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_14_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Everything is well labeled on the front of the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_15_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The bottom of FSP's power supplies are always different than the competition. You'll either love it or hate it. The black 135mm fan cools this unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_16_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the modular cables come wrapped with reusable Velcro cable ties.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_17_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

There are a few more goodies in the box such as some more Velcro ties, mounting screws, case badge, and of course the C19 power cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5957_18_fsp_aurum_pro_1000_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Also present in the box is a user manual and a warranty card.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases