TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,984 Reviews & Articles | 38,652 News Posts

Topre Type Heaven 104-Key Keyboard Review - Inside the Type Heaven

Topre Type Heaven 104-Key Keyboard Review

Still haven't found the right mechanical switch that fits? It's time to try some hybrid switches in the new Type Heaven from Topre.

| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 19, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Topre

Inside the Type Heaven

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_24_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Getting the top frame off the keyboard is not that tough at all, but once it was removed, the inside of the keyboard is build just like a mechanical would be. They use a thick steel plate to secure all of the switches and remove flex from the keyboard, offering a much more solid feel than a typical rubber dome based offering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_25_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

After disconnecting the USB cable from the guts of the Type Heaven, while most companies offer pegs to support the PCB and the steel plate, Topre uses a system of varying height support bars that run from left to right, solidifying the design even more.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_26_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

The back of the PCB has the company name and model of the keyboard painted on the PCB, but notice there are no solder points like in a normal mechanical. This is due to the capacitance switches used, much like a normal rubber dome board, but on a level of quality like I have never seen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_27_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

To make it all work, Topre takes silver screws to mount the PCB to the Steel plate to make those one rigid component. To solidify what is usually a sloppy fit between the domes and the copper pads, it's taken care of with the black screws as they mount sections of keys to the PCB to make it all one solid part.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_28_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Assuming we had found the controller, we found that there is a sticker applied to the chip at some point of its making or installation. At this point the ZA01 02 doesn't inform us of much.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_29_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Under the sticker we see an F and China, with the number reference of M890F337. While there is very little direct information, we can tell this is the MCU that will allow the keyboard to function as well as being what sends that signal along to the PC.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_30_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Then, when we were all finished inside and had the Type Heaven all buttoned back up, we went ahead and plugged it in. Of course there are no fancy LEDs to see, or the hassle of finding and installing drivers. The only change at this point from when we took it out of the box is that with the locks set on, there are now three green LEDs at the top by the golden Type Heaven naming.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases