TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,008 Reviews & Articles | 38,762 News Posts

Topre Type Heaven 104-Key Keyboard Review - Type Heaven Continued

Topre Type Heaven 104-Key Keyboard Review
Still haven't found the right mechanical switch that fits? It's time to try some hybrid switches in the new Type Heaven from Topre.
| Keyboards in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 19, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Topre

Type Heaven Continued

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_17_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the left side of the Type Heaven it is easy to see the two defined sections. The top is thick and hangs over the lower section a bit, but makes it easy to handle and move around. As this thick edge nears the back, it just rolls over the edge and falls away.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_18_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the feet extended it does raise the back of the keyboard another half of an inch and raises the angle at which you use the keys. Along the back there is a line separating the halves of the frame, but it is just an expanse of curved plastic with no extra hub, or even the wire sticking out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_19_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As I took this image of the right side of the Topre Type Heaven, I noticed the caps are on two different angles. The bottom two rows lay toward the back, while the rows above are a bit flatter; this takes ergonomics in design to a level I do not recall seeing in other offerings.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_20_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

Flipping the keyboard onto its caps, the bottom is also different than most others. At the back there is a raised rail with bumps to support that edge, while at the front, two small rubber feet grab onto the desk. It has flip-out feet, and the cable comes out near the middle above the product sticker, but is not designed to go out the back.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_21_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

With the plastic feet extended, just like the bump on the rail to its left, there is nothing applied to add ensured grip to the back of the Type Heaven. While we did not find it to move much, it would move in extended use, and adding some form of grip here would eliminate that all together.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_22_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

As for the cable, you have two options. Run it out the right side of the keyboard, or the left as we have done, keep in mind this is flipped, so makes sure when placing the cable into the groove and past the tabs on the edge, that you have it going the correct way, as it is tough to get the cable in, and just as tough to get it out, leaving it very secured once ran through here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5953_23_topre_type_heaven_204_key_keyboard_review.jpg

 

This cable is 1.8 meters in total length as per the specifications, but that is not entirely true. With the sample we were sent, the cable is 1.8 meters from the edge of the keyboard to the connection. This means that you aren't taking up valuable length to route the cable on the back.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases