TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,004 Reviews & Articles | 38,751 News Posts

Netgear ReadyNAS 104 Four Bay Consumer NAS Review - Software Features

Netgear ReadyNAS 104 Four Bay Consumer NAS Review
In the market for a low-cost networked storage solution? You may want to take a look at the Netgear ReadyNAS 104.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Dec 18, 2013 10:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Netgear

Software Features

 

NAS products are equal parts hardware performance, and software features. One compliments the other in a balanced product. You need more hardware performance to run more software features at the same time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_20_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

The Netgear setup utility (or RAIDar) allows quick setup of the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_21_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

The landing page for the Netgear Web UI walks you through the initial setup.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_22_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

Once setup is complete, we find ourselves at the landing page of the GUI. From here, with a quick glance, we can see the RAID status, and check for firmware updates.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_23_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

To setup our first array, we entered the volume management tab. Here, we select the drive we want to use from the image of the NAS in the center. Then, moving to the right, we can select X-RAID, or New Volume.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_24_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

By moving to the performance tab, we can view the temperatures and fan speeds of the internal hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_25_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

Within the setting menu, we have the option of enabling, or disabling, services. Additionally, we can set backup operations, and power timers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_28_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

By moving to the accounts tab at the top, we can setup users, and groups, for access to the NAS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_29_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

The networking tab allows you to setup the dual NICs to your liking.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_30_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

The apps tab allows you to install some of the many feature applications on the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_31_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

Setting up your own personal cloud is rather easy with the integrated wizards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5951_32_netgear_readynas_104_four_bay_consumer_nas_review.png

 

The ReadyNAS allows for use with DropBox. You can also backup your NAS to a secure vault.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases