TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,934 Reviews & Articles | 38,229 News Posts

Watts Up? Pro, Pro ES, and .Net Power Meter Review - Watts Up? Meters

Watts Up? Pro, Pro ES, and .Net Power Meter Review

Watts Up? makes several meters that work as advertised to measure power at the plug level. Measuring AC power has never been easier.

| Accessories in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 16, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Watts Up?

Watts Up? Meters

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_07_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

The three models we're looking at today, all look the same from the top other than the product label. We ordered our meters with a standard 3-hole UO plug, but you can order meters with an IEC 320 C14 plug as well.

 

The front display is capable of showing eighteen different metrics: Current Watts, Minimum Watts, Maximum Watts, Power Factor, Volt Amp (apparent PWR), Cumulative Watt Hours, Average Monthly Kwh, Elapsed Time, Duty Cycle, Frequency (Hz), Cumulative Cost, Average Monthly $, Line Voltage, Minimum Volts, Maximum Volts, Current Amps, Minimum Amps, and Maximum Amps.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_08_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

The .Net model has two ports: Ethernet, and USB. The Pro and Pro ES only have USB, and the baseline Watts Up? is void of both ports.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_09_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

The meters plug into the wall to get power, and the plug at the top is your metered outlet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_10_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

You may assume the front panel has limited functionality with just two buttons, but we managed to perform nearly every setting change with these buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_11_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

Rubber feet keep your meter from sliding around on a desk or table.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_12_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

As we mentioned, the other models look nearly identical to the .Net model we've already shown.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5947_13_watts_up_pro_pro_es_and_net_power_meter_review.jpg

 

Also as mentioned, the Pro and Pro ES only have the USB port.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases