TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,143 Reviews & Articles | 39,488 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SteelSeries Rival Optical Gaming Mouse Review - Software

SteelSeries Rival Optical Gaming Mouse Review
SteelSeries goes back to the design room for a right handed mouse with plenty of new features. It's time to see if the Rival can stand its ground.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 17, 2013 10:04 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SteelSeries

Software

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_27_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

With the SteelSeries 3 Engine installed and the Rival plugged in, the device shows up like we see here. To access the controls for the Rival, double-click anywhere inside of the banner displaying its name, and you will be given a new window.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_28_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

Clicking on the little orange gear inside of the Rival's banner will allow you to change the language of the software and also offers a check-box to have SSE3 start up with login.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_29_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

What I found when trying to access the controls was that before I was allowed access, I had a critical firmware update to apply before we can continue. Here there were some small issues with the updater. While at first seemingly bricking the mouse, after a few restarts and various USB ports, the update was successful, and able to be used again.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_30_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

If when updating that Firmware, you see this screen and the updating bar does not start to quickly populate with green progression, and your Rival is rapidly flashing blue, this is where I was stuck for a bit. Try another USB port and see if it takes. While advised not to move or unplug the device, it was the only way we made any progress.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_31_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

Once past the stressful shenanigans, we were able to access the controls. The widow that opens offers a top view of the Rival with the buttons all denoted. To its left there are boxes that will allow you to swap functionality between them, but nothing along the lines of Macros or optional Windows controls. On the right, you have CPI 1 and 2. These can be set with the silver knob and your mouse, or you can highlight the CPI level and enter an amount between 50 and 9999, in single digit increments. The bottom then offers four selectable polling rates from 250 to 1000Hz.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_32_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

SteelSeries also offers the option to look at the Rival from the left side. I assume this is to be certain of programming the correct side buttons, but it is pretty straight forward from the top view. There is also a live preview switch at the bottom that allows you to see and feel changes as they are made, or you can turn it off and not see changes until it is saved and back in use at desktop level.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5945_33_steelseries_rival_optical_gaming_mouse_review.png

 

There are two boxes that say LOGO next to them. While the vast majority of that box is the current color selected, clicking the black triangle brings up this color window. Here you can search with the mouse in the main color band, and the box to the left allows for variations of the color chosen. There is also full RGB input options, and there are three modes of lighting effects hidden in the dropdown box for effects.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases