TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,979 Reviews & Articles | 38,635 News Posts

iStarUSA S35 Mini-ITX NAS Tower Chassis Review - iStarUSA BPU-230

iStarUSA S35 Mini-ITX NAS Tower Chassis Review

Stop confusing yourself with all the NAS box options out there, and build your own NAS with the S-35 from iStarUSA, or maybe don't - your choice.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 13, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 69%      Manufacturer: iStarUSA

iStarUSA BPU-230

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_22_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As the second part to the combo, we were also sent this BPU-230. Along with the image of the device off to the right, at the bottom, it tells us that this is a hot-swap drive enclosure, designed for compact and embedded storage applications.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_23_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Spinning the packaging around, we find that this BPU-230 is 146mm wide, 202mm deep, and stands 86mm tall. We can also see that this device is designed for SATA drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_24_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside of the packaging, the BPU-230 is surrounded in high density foam. Along with the bays comes paperwork, screws to mount drives in one bag, screws to mount this into a chassis in another bag, and three SATA cables with clips on the connections.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_25_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of it is made of solid bits of black plastic, like the thin left side, and the right side with the reset and individual drive power buttons. In the middle, there are three trays with tinted plastic covers. To the left are the buttons to open each tray. There are also locks offered for each tray.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_26_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After checking with the NAS guys (even though I don't have the foggiest idea of what the jumpers and switches are for), I was told this is typical of what NAS bays like this offer. In the middle of the back of this bay, there is an 80mm fan to keep the drive inside of it cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_27_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side is where the connections are made for the BPU-230. Two bays have SATA power next to the SATA connections, while the third offers only the transfer cable pot. You will also need to add two Molex connectors at the top to gain full functionality of this device.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_28_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I do not suggest the removal of the back plane, but this was the only way to get a clear look at it. Things seem pretty straight forward here, with the controller IC at the top, and switches and LED power leads running from the right side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_29_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is just one last shot of the BPU-230 before we load it up with drives, and attempt to add this into the S-35 for our final build.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases