TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

iStarUSA S35 Mini-ITX NAS Tower Chassis Review - Inside the S-35

iStarUSA S35 Mini-ITX NAS Tower Chassis Review
Stop confusing yourself with all the NAS box options out there, and build your own NAS with the S-35 from iStarUSA, or maybe don't - your choice.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 13, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 69%Manufacturer: iStarUSA

Inside the S-35

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_14_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After removing the four screws and pulling the top of the chassis to the back, we are allowed to remove the three sided lid. Inside of the S-35, this is what you are given.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_15_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There are three 5.25" bays with metal bay covers currently installed into them. This entire section is removable after locating some eleven screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_16_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Before we start removing anything for a better view, as we turn the S-35 around, we can see the wiring has been tied to the side of the bays via tabs intended for wire management. This is mainly to keep the power extension cable in check, as well as provide a place to store the excess front I/O wiring.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_17_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the 5.25" bays now out of the chassis, we can view the included TC-1U20FX2, 200W power supply. Notice that if you choose not to use an optional fan, the PSU would use the venting in the steel cover to stay cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_18_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

They include a 24-pin, 4-pin EPS, 6-pin PCI, along with leads for SATA and Molex. The leads are more than long enough for this chassis. At the end of the Molex run is an FDD power plug.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_19_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front I/O wiring was taken around the floor of the chassis, and was still long enough to go all the way under, and poke out of this side. There are three red and black cables that are for the power HDD LED, and power LED. The black cabling is for the pair of USB 2.0 ports on the front to connect to a motherboard header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_20_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The screws seen on the aluminum face plate are not just there for show. You will need to grab the appropriate Allen wrench and remove them to gain access to the 5.25" bay screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5936_21_istarusa_s35_mini_itx_nas_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

After all four screws are removed, the face plate will swing away to allow access to another nine screws that need to be removed. You can leave the bays in the chassis, but the installation is much easier with them out of the way.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases