TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,924 Reviews & Articles | 38,170 News Posts

Netgear ProSAFE XS712T L2+ 10GbE Switch Review - Netgear ProSAFE XS712T

Netgear ProSAFE XS712T L2+ 10GbE Switch Review

Today Chris takes a look at Netgear's ProSAFE XS712T L2+ 10GbE switch. Is it time to get your house or office connected with 10Gb Ethernet?

| Network Switches in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Dec 11, 2013 7:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Netgear

Netgear ProSAFE XS712T

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_07_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.png

 

Here we get our first look at the Netgear ProSAFE XS712T. There are twelve 10GBase-T RJ45 ports and two SFP+ ports shared with two RJ45 ports.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_08_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.jpg

 

Status LEDs indicate power or fan failure. Just below, we found recessed reset and factory default buttons.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_09_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.jpg

 

LED activity indicators show network status at the port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_10_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.jpg

 

Ports are configured in three clusters of four.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_11_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.jpg

 

Two SFP+ ports work with Netgear 10GbE optics. We tested the unit with Intel optics from a X520-SR2 and they worked.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_12_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.png

 

Two cooling fans on the side of the unit blow fresh air across the internals. With this configuration you don't have to worry about front to back or reverse air flow in the rack.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_13_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.png

 

Air comes out on the other side through a perforated panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_14_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.png

 

On the back we found a power connector and slot for a Kensington lock.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5932_15_netgear_prosafe_xs712t_l2_10gbe_switch_review.jpg

 

The printed MAC address was found on the label next to the power port.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases