TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,499 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Feenix Nascita 2014 Laser Gaming Mouse Review - Inside the Feenix Nascita

Feenix Nascita 2014 Laser Gaming Mouse Review
A brand new company applies its hand at gaming mice. Stick with us while we bring you the new Nascita from Feenix and see how it goes in our review.
| Mice in Peripherals | Posted: Dec 10, 2013 3:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Feenix

Inside the Feenix Nascita

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_19_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The feet need to be removed to get this far, since there are a total of six screws holding these halves together. There is a ribbon cable that runs from the bottom to the top section to power the LED and the LCD screen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_20_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The left click switch is backed with the Omron D2FC-F-7N that offers a five million click lifespan, and a click feel that is hard to duplicate with other brands.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_21_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The buttons that allow the back page and forward page functions are backed with these blue TTC switches. While we typically see red switches that require a bit more activation force, the softer feel of these blue switches makes the buttons a bit easier to use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_22_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Set slightly lower than center is the Avago ADNS9800 laser sensor. This sensor tops out at 8200DPI, but since the Nascita is driverless, it starts at 800DPI and the buttons allow 400 DPI increments up to 1600, then goes to 800DPI increments from 2400 to 8200DPI.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_23_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Speaking of DPI selection, when you press the silver buttons behind the scroll wheel, they activate these red Kaiche switches. These are stiffer than the blue TTC switches, and make it so that there are no accidental changes; you have to really mean to change the DPI on-the-fly.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_24_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Just to the left of the DPI switches is where the Holtek HT82A525R MCU is located. It works with an internal clock of 12Hz, is full speed USB 2.0, and is plenty of processor to handle the more basic function of the Nascita. The FM24C64A chip is the EEPROM and is where all the functionality programming and settings of the mouse is stored.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_25_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The switch under the scroll wheel, uses a green switch, is marked NSPCY and is the toughest switch on the mouse to activate. As for the right slick button on the mouse, just like the left side, the same Omron switch is used here too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_26_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

All back together and now connected to power, the front of the Nascita 2014 lights up both of the headlights with the use of the large LEDs seen in the previous images. This does put a glow about three inches in front of the mouse.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_27_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

The LCD screen and name also come to life once powered. Currently, we have the Nascita set to 1600 DPI as the LCD is displaying, but it is also backlit to read in the dark. The name is also lit, but depending on the angle, it may not all appear lit all the time.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_28_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

As you walk up on the desk and have a seat, this is most likely the LED section that will be seen the most. I personally think the LED should be moved forward, the logo is seriously bright at the tail, but at the wing tips it is very dim.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5930_29_feenix_nascita_2014_laser_gaming_mouse_review.jpg

 

Stepping back a bit to take the Nascita all in again, you can see what I mean about the LED in the name and it is easier to see the way the LED illuminates. While I may be being picky, we are speaking of a pretty serious investment here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Peripherals content at our Peripherals reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases