TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,910 Reviews & Articles | 38,056 News Posts

Netgear ReadyNAS 516 6-Bay NAS Review - Netgear ReadyNAS 516

Netgear ReadyNAS 516 6-Bay NAS Review

Netgear ships more NAS products than any other company in the world. The 516 model is a business class NAS capable of high concurrent connections.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Dec 9, 2013 2:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Netgear

Netgear ReadyNAS 516

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_11_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With the power off, the front of the NAS is void of anything other than a black face.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_500_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With power, the system comes alive with a two-line display, a Netgear logo, and a touch panel for easy system configuration and USB 2.0 data backup. The front face will turn off to reduce power until you get close to the middle buttons. Netgear uses a proximity sensor, so it senses your approach before you even touch the display. Once in contact, the button glows brighter to show it's been pressed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_12_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With the front door open we see a lot of ventilation holes for keeping the system and your drives cool. A power button at the bottom right brings the system to life and a USB 2.0 power in the middle at the bottom works as a quick touch backup for external storage devices.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_13_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Any device with a door raises our suspicion for failure since you end up with metal, in this case wires, bending back and forth. Netgear wraps the cables in plastic mesh to reduce strain.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_14_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

With the door closed, air for the drives has to pass through the front door through vents in the side. Sadly, the door does not lock, so power button and drive access is open for the taking, so to speak. If your office needs to stay HIPA compliant this isn't the unit you want unless you have a room to lock the NAS in.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_15_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The structure is steel but we couldn't hear any rattles, or for that matter, any fan noise or vibration.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_16_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

Cooling was handled by a large fan on the back and the power supply has a small 20mm fan as well. Netgear recessed the power supply so the small fan isn't right at the back of the NAS. This helps reduce any high frequency fan noise we often hear from smaller fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_17_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The ReadyNAS 516 has a nice set of I/O ports. Two eSATA ports at the top and bottom of the I/O area allow the system to expand to 84TB with ReadyNAS Expansion Chassis units, model EDA500-100NAS. Newegg sells the expansion unit for $749.99.

Two USB 3.0 ports increase your expansion and connectivity options, and a HDMI port means A/V capabilities, but you may need to install third-party software to use the function.

 

Two gigabit Ethernet ports provide the main I/O for the ReadyNAS 516. The ports can be used on separate networks or trunked together for failover or increased performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_18_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

The front USB 2.0 port allows for easily removable device backup.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_19_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

On the back of the NAS we noticed a PCIe expansion slot, but once inside, we found the system didn't have the PCIe header to add a 10GbE card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5927_20_netgear_readynas_516_6_bay_nas_review.jpg

 

We did spot a nice detail while inside though. Netgear uses foam on the side to prevent air from channeling past the HDDs in the system. This should also help with some vibration and help control noise. It's a small addition, but it goes to show the level of detail Netgear put into the design.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases