TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,060 Reviews & Articles | 38,956 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

EVGA Hadron Air Mini-ITX Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

EVGA Hadron Air Mini-ITX Chassis Review
EVGA takes on the chassis market with their first case. Let's see if the Hadron Air should be the next Mini-ITX chassis for your compact build.
| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 7, 2013 5:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: EVGA

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_28_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build complete, even if you were to opt for the optical drive installation, the front of the Hadron Air does not change at all. It is still all business up front with the same simple, and sleek, aesthetics we had when we first pulled it out of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_29_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

I tried many coolers, and while a lot of them would fit, getting the board mounted and wired afterward would be near impossible. For that reason, we went with the stock cooler. The wiring is a bit short in some areas, like the USB 3.0 cable. Because of this, the USB 3.0 and HD audio cables, stick out like a sore thumb.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_30_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is plenty of room at the front to leave excess lengths of cables, like the 24-pin, or any of them you may not have the need to use in the build, much like the Molex leads we did not use.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_31_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

While we do have enough slack to route the 24-pin higher to allow a card to easily pass by, the USB 3.0 cable may get in the way. There are no other options either, since the header is at the top of this ASRock motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_32_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Nothing unusual to report in the back. Access to the expansion slots is done outside the chassis; both to remove the cover, and the screws to mount the card. We also test fitted a dust shield, and there were no issues with the fit there either.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_33_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

It is pretty easy to see that the back of the motherboard tray has nothing to offer other than a millimeter, or two, of space from the tray to the door panel that covers this side. You would be hard pressed to run a fan lead through here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_34_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With everything back together, the Hadron Air looks very nice as you view it from the front and left. This allows one to gaze into the chassis at the components, and remember what fun it was to install the kit into this compact chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5924_35_evga_hadron_air_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

It is likely that this will be the view most users will have if they plan to access the slot for discs, or any of the front I/O connectivity. The system is also powered on at this point. The only changes that let us know this, are the LED in the center of the power button that is now illuminated white, and the slight hum of the fans inside of the case.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases