TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,187 News Posts

BitFenix Colossus Mini-ITX Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

BitFenix Colossus Mini-ITX Chassis Review

BitFenix goes back to what got them first noticed - throwing in a fair bit of the Prodigy, you have a good idea about the Colossus Mini-ITX case.

| Small Form Factor Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 6, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_31_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Four tabs hold the bezel to the frame, and once removed it is easy to see the foam in the bay as well as the larger inlet in the middle acting as dust filters. It is also much easier to grasp the amount of fan options for the intake to this chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_32_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

In total length the SilverStone PSU was a fit, but once we slid it in, we realized that the modular connections ran into the lower steel frame. Time to find "old trusty".

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_33_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once everything is installed, the front of the chassis makes no change at all. If we were to look behind the door, nothing changed again since we did not opt for an optical drive at the top, so we left the plate in place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_34_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

We did remove the front fan to allow for an AIO to go into the front, but we just added to to the top of the chassis to slightly improve the exhausting of the chassis over leaving it in the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_35_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

With "old trusty" in at the bottom and the HD7950 installed, there is very little view of anything inside of the chassis, and remember, this panel will be facing away from you most times.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_36_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Without a dust shield for the rear I/O for this motherboard, we did test fit one, and there were not fitment issues. The PSU goes in easily, and with the screws for the slots and its cover on the outside, it makes accessing them so much easier than if they were inside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_37_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking inside form the right side of the Colossus Mini-ITX, now we can tell what is going on. Wiring is meant to be stowed next to the power supply, and doing so does leave the rest of the chassis clutter free for much better airflow inside of the chassis than if we had wires all over.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_38_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powering up the Colossus Mini-ITX delivers roughly 33dB of noise, but with the Tundra inside, we have a much louder system running. The first thing to do is to hit that light button to see what happens, and here we see the LEDs are in the red selection as the front and side of the chassis are now glowing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_39_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

Pushing the light button again will deliver the blue lighting mode that again illuminates the sides as well as the front section.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5922_40_bitfenix_colossus_mini_itx_chassis_review.jpg

 

The least option outside of the fourth push that activates a breathing mode is obviously the green LED lighting we see here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases