TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,074 Reviews & Articles | 39,007 News Posts

Seagate Business Storage 8-Bay Rackmount NAS Review - Packaging and Accessories

Seagate Business Storage 8-Bay Rackmount NAS Review
The new Seagate Business Storage NAS packs the highest density in the 1U market today, up to 32TB with eight 4TB drives. Let's check it out now. (NASDAQ:STX)
| Network Storage in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Dec 3, 2013 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Seagate

Packaging

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_07_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

We're not going to spend a lot of time on the package today. The system ships double boxed with a brown box on the outside and a nice retail box inside. On the enterprise side, we're more concerned with product protection than we are with pretty colors and details printed on the outside. Most of these products are purchased over the internet, so shipping takes precedence over shelf appeal.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_08_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

As mentioned, the system ships double boxed. Inside, we found layers of foam with the NAS placed deep inside for maximum protection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_09_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

At the corners, where most shipping damage occurs, we found a three to four inch space between the server and the box. Closed cell foam fills the space for maximum protection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_10_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

Each drive has a separate section for protection as well. The drive sleds are also tucked inside the foam; a place for everything.

 

 

Accessories

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_11_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The system ships with a paper quick start guide, a three-month trial for 100GB of cloud storage, and a warranty card. A full manual and software are on the USB drive shaped like a key.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_12_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

On the cable side, you get two power cables and a single Ethernet cable. Also pictured here are the screws for the rack rails.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5914_13_seagate_business_storage_8_bay_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The rails that ship with the Business Storage NAS are high quality with a large ball bearing section for small server slides in and out from the rack. Also included is a cable management arm, but you need a deep rack to use the cable management arm.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases