TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,095 News Posts

Western Digital Black 2 Dual Drive 2.5" Consumer HDD/SSD Review - WD Black 2 Dual Drive HDD

Western Digital Black 2 Dual Drive 2.5

WD launches the Black 2 Dual Drive, and we have it in house for testing. Let's take a look at this unique HDD / SSD product. (NASDAQ:WDC)

| HDDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 25, 2013 1:00 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Western Digital

WD Black 2 Dual Drive HDD

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_03_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

The WD Black 2 Dual Drive shipped in its retail upgrade packaging.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_04_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

The WD Black 2 Dual Drive is marketed as an upgrade solution. Thus, we have the full kit to complete the operation. In the box, you will find the drive itself, along with an external adapter for connecting your old drive after installation. Additionally, you will find a hefty manual in several languages and the software on a USB key.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_05_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

The WD Black 2 carries an outward appearance similar to a solid state drive. Here we have a black PCB, with branding in gold lettering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_06_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

The WD Black 2 uses standard SATA power and data connections.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_07_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the drive houses the model identification, and the platter PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_08_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

Removing the solid state PCB revealed the WD Slim 1TB HDD underneath.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_09_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we have our first look at the SSD itself, powered by a JMicron 667H controller and two NAND packages.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_10_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.png

 

Initially, the WD Black 2 only allows the OS to see the SSD. This is to insure there is no confusion when installing your operating system. After you have successfully installed the OS, you can then use the included USB Key to launch the software and unlock the HDD portion of the drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5903_11_western_digital_black_2_dual_drive_2_5_consumer_hdd_ssd_review.png

 

After the software installs and unlocks the HDD, a prompt allows you to restart your PC.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases