TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,000 Reviews & Articles | 38,740 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

LG G2 Smartphone Review - The New Speed King - Benchmarks

LG G2 Smartphone Review - The New Speed King

LG's G2 is one of the best Android-powered smartphones on the market with some seriously impressive specs. Check out our full review. (KRX:066575)

| Phones in Mobile Devices | Posted: Nov 27, 2013 2:02 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: LG

Benchmarks

 

This is something I really have a hard time doing: benchmarks on mobile devices. I'm going to continue them, but I really don't like the idea of "comparing" "results" against mobile devices, as it does not at all represent real-world performance, at all. But, we'll provide them anyway.

 

When testing our Nexus 7, and any device going into the future, we put them into Airplane mode, then reboot them and run the benchmarks fresh. Between each benchmark, we reboot the device to flush it clean and run the next benchmark, and so on.

 

First up, we'll dive into some Basemark X results.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_60_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

The refreshed Nexus 7's Snapdragon S4 Pro SoC holds up quite well in Basemark X, where it manages to jump out in the lead by a fair margin at 720p, but not so much at 1080p.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_65_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

I tried running 3DMark in the usual Ice Storm benchmark, which pushes just 720p on the device - and wondered why it didn't spit out a score at the end. Then, I realized it said "Maxed Out." The G2 performed so damn well in this test, that it blew off the scoreboard and wouldn't give me a result to put down in my benchmark. Oh well, onto Ice Storm Extreme!

 

Ok, wow: I just ran the Ice Storm Extreme benchmark, and it has said the same thing. But, 3DMark recommends that I "try running Ice Storm Unlimited instead," so I'm going to do just that. Let's see how that goes!

 

I re-ran some of my devices that I have here in my labs, so we could get a better idea of just how much ass the G2 kicks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_61_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

Ok, now we can see how all of our devices fare in 3DMark's Ice Storm Unlimited benchmark, with the G2 again, kicking some serious mobile ass. The G2 is way out in front with 15,144, with the trailing Nexus devices: 10,918 for the refreshed Nexus 7 and just 3,243 for the 2012 Nexus 7. The Nexus 4 doesn't do too badly here, with 11,313.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_65_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

We've changed up our GLBenchmark tests, as Kishonti Informatics has released GLBenchmark 2.7, the latest in its benchmarking software. First up, we have the GFXBench 2.7 T-Rex HD Offscreen benchmark.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_62_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

Next up we have the Fill Rate Offscreen, again at 1080p.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_63_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

Second to last, we have Quadrant 2.1.1 Pro with the Full Benchmark Total Score.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5889_64_lg_g2_smartphone_review_the_new_speed_king.png

 

HOLY CRAP!! Do you see that?! The LG G2 just completely, utterly, and undeniably smashes every other device I've tested. The closest device is the Sony Xperia Z with 8,168... but the G2 has an astounding score of 20,369! Unbelievable.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases