TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,073 Reviews & Articles | 38,997 News Posts

Icy Dock FatCage MB155SP-B Drive Cage Review - Icy Dock MB155SP-B

Icy Dock FatCage MB155SP-B Drive Cage Review
Today Chris looks at the FatCage MB155SP-5 from Icy Dock, a 5 HDD in 3 bay cage with 92mm cooling. Let's take a close look at it and see how it goes.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Nov 20, 2013 3:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Icy Dock

Icy Dock MB155SP-B

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_09_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual enclosure. There are five drives across and everything is packed pretty tight.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_10_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

There isn't a locking mechanism other than the blue latch that secures the pivoting arm that allows you to pull the drive from the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_11_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

The drive cages are simple to use. The black plastic spacer comes off and HDD drops between the arms. Four screws secure the drive to the cage.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_12_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

The enclosure has four mounting points on each side. These are in the same location as they are on an optical drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_13_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we see all of the electrical connectors as well as the 92mm fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_14_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we see the two and three-pin fan ports as well as the fan speed control jumper.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_15_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

Three SATA power ports are fit closely together along the top right side of the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_16_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

Each drive has its own SATA port along the bottom and side of the enclosure.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5878_17_icy_dock_fatcage_mb155sp_b_drive_cage_review.jpg

 

We did run into one issue that is important for some applications. The FatCage MB155SP-B won't work in some tower cases that have guides between each optical drive bay. Above the FatCage is another Icy Dock product that has a recessed area so the guides pass through. Many tool-less cases have the guides. There isn't a manual that says you can't cut the metal tabs off of the case to make a product like the FatCage fit, just be careful.

 

Still, this unit is designed mainly for server use and will fit in many 4u cases.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases