TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,684 Reviews & Articles | 36,179 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

NZXT Source 530 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

NZXT Source 530 Mid-Tower Chassis Review

The Source series gets serious as it moves away from a budget chassis, and into this feature-rich Source 530 that NZXT has us looking at today.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 18, 2013 9:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: NZXT

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_29_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front bezel comes off by pulling at the bottom of it. Once off, you can rinse the bezel since the wiring stays attached to the chassis. There is also room for fans at the bottom, but they mount on the other side and the drive cages being removed for access is recommended.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_30_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the build was finished and the bezel is back on the chassis, the addition of the DVD drive fits right into the design. From the view through the mesh being so good to the components inside, the air flow through this mesh should be good as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_31_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing most of the drive cages does afford much more room inside of the chassis. Again, the bottom section can be removed, and all said, as long as the triple cage is still installed, this chassis will hold up to nine 120mm fans. There was nothing out of the ordinary where the build is concerned; everything fits with very little effort.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_32_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The PSU slides in and screws in easily enough, and the support legs do a fine job of isolating the PSU from the chassis. The video card did require a bit of flex to align the case and the card, but the I/O dust cover snapped right in easily.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_33_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Readdressing the wiring was a must, and to be honest, everything was set right out for us to just simply wire as we went. Keeping the fan, front I/O and PSU wiring all separated and cleanly tied up was almost too easy with the way this tray is laid out with options.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_34_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All packaged back up as we get ready to test the Source 530, we are left with the same sleek, simple, yet aesthetically pleasing looks we started off with. The only thing left to do is add some power and see what we have then.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_35_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the Source 530 and the system inside are powered up, there is the option to turn on the I/O LED lights. There are two, one at the top of the rear I/O and the second over the expansion slots, designed to make fumbling in the dark a thing of the past.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5875_36_nzxt_source_530_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As we have power now, the NZXT at the top right corner of the bezel is now glowing white. The bar that comes from the steel, across the plastic, and to the front of the bezel at the right is also illuminated as the boot process is accessing the spinner inside. With just two fans running in the chassis, we registered a reading of 34dB with the pair of fans spinning at full power.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below