TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,914 Reviews & Articles | 38,096 News Posts

Cooler Master Cosmos SE Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master Cosmos SE Full-Tower Chassis Review

For those that were really into the Cosmos design, but wanted a smaller version, your time has come. Let's look at the Cosmos SE in detail.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 13, 2013 3:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_33_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just because we can, we mounted the HDD at the bottom of the chassis, and while there, we removed the bay cover and slid in the DVD drive. While the entire bezel does not need to come off, it is nice to see the chassis wiring is all contained above and it allows this to get out of the way for radiator installation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_34_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the bezel back in place, even with the addition of the optical device, the styling that we were offered out of the box is still intact.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_35_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Things are a bit tight inside of the Cosmos SE, there is no way of denying that, but there is plenty of room if it is planned out slowly, and patience is applied. Removing the inner HDD side plates is needed for longer video cards like this one, but they will still fit. As for the rest of the build in here, it went pretty smooth with no issues to discuss.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_36_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There were no issues mounting the dust shield, aligning and mounting the video card, or sliding the PSU into the bracket with it still attached to the chassis. You can remove it and attach it to the PSU and slide them both through the back, but because of the fan grill on the PSU, it slid in from the inside much easier.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_37_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Wire management takes a bit of effort, but when done methodically, the results are quite nice. There were plenty of places to attach wiring, and the management holes are all very well placed and leave very little of the wiring even exposed inside of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_38_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Packaged up and ready for testing, the Cosmos SE looks much like it did when we first gazed upon its sleekness. The one thing that does change is the view through the large side window. While a view of the bays is also part of the deal, there is great view of the entire motherboard and everything on it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5868_39_cooler_master_cosmos_se_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Powering up the Cosmos SE, it comes to life with a flood of blue LED lighting. Next to the buttons on the I/O showing system power, the thin line across the front showing that the drive is being accessed, along with the pair of fans in the front give the Cosmos SE a very appealing look both on and off.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases