TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,167 News Posts

OCZ Technology Vector 150 120GB SSD Review - OCZ Vector 150 120GB SSD

OCZ Technology Vector 150 120GB SSD Review

Vector 150 120GB comes with 128GB of NAND flash. Overprovisioning moves the user capacity down to 120GB, but steady state performance gets a boost. (NASDAQ:OCZ)

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Nov 7, 2013 11:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: OCZ Technology

OCZ Vector 150 120GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_05_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Vector 150 has nearly the same package as the original Vector, just tack on the 150 at the end of the product name.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_06_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_07_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We dubbed the accessory package as 'the OCZ standard' a few years ago. You get a desktop adapter bracket, mounting screws, Acronis software key, paper manuals and a sticker.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_08_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new Vector 150 120GB model. Again, not much has changed on the outside.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_09_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_10_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Vector 150 has a 7mm z-height, so it will work in the latest ultrabooks designed for the new low height standard. The mounting points are the same so the drive will also fit in traditional notebooks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_11_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The desktop adapter bracket offsets the drive to the left making cable management easier when installing more than one drive in a system.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_12_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

OCZ used a thermal pad on the Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_13_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 120GB model uses the same NAND flash we found on the 240GB model, there is just half the number of packages.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_14_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_15_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller is the same used on the original Vector, M00 revision.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_16_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The buffer uses Micron DDR3-1600 DRAM set to just 1.35v. There are two packages, one on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5861_17_ocz_technology_vector_150_120gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The big change is the 19nm Toshiba Toggle flash on Vector 150. The original Vector shipped with 25nm Micron flash.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases