TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,168 News Posts

GamerStorm Lucifer CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

GamerStorm Lucifer CPU Cooler Review

With today's newest processors, controlling heat is the name of the game. Check out how well the 300W TDP Lucifer cooler performs from GamerStorm.

| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 7, 2013 3:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%      Manufacturer: GamerStorm

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_25_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Starting off the installation process, we must first address the back plate. Here all we did was to insert the screws through the plate and installed the rubber caps that hold the heads of the screws in place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_26_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Be mindful of the three holes cut for the socket screws, and slide the back plate through the cooler holes. Between the thick layer of plastic glued to the plate and the thick rubber end caps, there is no chance at all of this plate grounding out against the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_27_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get this far, we flipped the motherboard over, installed the four black plastic risers, and then went ahead and attached the Intel top brackets with the use of the four nuts. Now all we need is some paste and the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_28_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

While it seems that to mount the Lucifer the cooler is wider than the hardware, and it is. To help make life easier, this is also part of the reasoning behind the removed sections at the front and back, it leaves just enough room to get an average screwdriver in there to secure the cooler to the hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_29_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The tops of the memory were removed for a more natural looking installation. The fact is that the fan can go up a bit more, but then the overall height is increased.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_30_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Spinning the motherboard a bit to get a closer look, not only does the fan give a height restriction, it also covers two of the slots. If you plan to run the Lucifer passively, you can use as tall of heat spreaders in all four slots as desired.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_31_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The fin body is centered over the CPU pretty well, and does allow for a bit of room behind the cooler. While it does make access to the 8-pin tough when inside of some chassis designs, there is plenty of room for that second fan.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_32_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Getting the motherboard mounted into even this large open air chassis brought another issue to mind. Since the cooler is so large, it does make accessing two of the motherboard screws rather tough. Other than that, I have no complaints with installing the Lucifer.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5854_33_gamerstorm_lucifer_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

As we always try to do, here is one last glamour shot of the GamerStorm Lucifer so you can take the design in and recall all we discussed as we move into the testing phase.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases