TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,463 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone EP02 SATA to USB 3.0 Adapter Review

SilverStone EP02 SATA to USB 3.0 Adapter Review
The EP02 from SilverStone offers tremendous storage performance through USB 3.0. Let's take a closer look at this affordable mobile storage option.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Nov 5, 2013 3:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_99_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.png

 

Within SilverStone's vast array of accessories, they have a number of storage solutions. Ranging from full on eSATA and USB 3.0 enclosures, right down to USB to SATA adapters. It just so happens we have the latest in the form of adapters from SilverStone in house today, the EP02.

 

The EP02 is SilverStone's first attempt at an USB 3.0 adapter, and right off the bat, they have started with an excellent design utilizing the full bandwidth of USB 3.0. Adding to the launch of EP02, SilverStone also offers the MS07, a 2.5" silicon case to protect the drive connected. Compatibility of the EP02 extends from Mac OS X 10+ to modern Windows OS and Linux. Warranty is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_02_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the EP02 includes the adapter itself and USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_03_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have a look at the I/O ports of the EP02. On the left there is a 12v DC port for additional power and to the right the USB 3.0 cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_04_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

Above, we have the SATA power and data layout.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_05_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

Here we have the MS07, an additional accessory that completes the EP02.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_06_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

On the edge of the MS07, we find the cut out for connecting the EP02.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_07_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.jpg

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Above, we have installed our Corsair Neutron SSD into the MS07 silicon case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_10_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.png

 

Testing the performance of the EP02, we first loaded up ATTO. Here we found our Neutron capable of 454 MB/s read and 414 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_11_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.png

 

CrystalDiskMark showed similar results, but also gave us a look at large block random read/write and 4K results with QD. Here we have 260 MB/s read and 320 MB/s write in 512K. 4K with QD32 came in at 141 MB/s read and 156MB/s write.

 

First looking at build quality, the SilverStone EP02 carries quite a bit of durability. Even with its plastic design, the unit felt sturdy enough to handle a few drops. Adding to this, if you were to add the MS07 to your order thus protecting your drive, it would make a great on the go solution for anyone that travels.

 

Performance of the EP02 was quite good, in every aspect of our testing. ATTO showed its tremendous capabilities using all available USB 3.0 bandwidth in our test system. CDM showed more of the same with the EP02 capable of 426 MB/s read and 379 MB/s write. A sneaking suspicion I do have is this EP02 uses the same and latest ASMedia 1053E controller we found in the MDSSD mSATA enclosure.

 

Pricing at the time of writing is set at $15.99 for the EP02 and adding the MS07 to your order will set you back another $4.99.Warranty for the EP02 is listed at one year.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5847_1234_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5847_100_silverstone_ep02_sata_to_usb_3_0_adapter_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases