TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,013 Reviews & Articles | 38,786 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Thermaltake Urban T21 Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Thermaltake Urban T21 Mid-Tower Chassis Review
Sleek simplicity is the idea behind the newest chassis in the Urban series. Join us as we look at the new Urban T21 from Thermaltake.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 30, 2013 8:16 pm
TweakTown Rating: 79%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_29_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Even though the removal of the bezel isn't needed for the build, it is nice to see that the wiring and switches are mounted to the chassis and not to the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_30_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the bay cover, then sliding in the drive and installing the tool-free clip, the DVD drive is very secure and not going anywhere, even if you have to travel. For those that are paranoid, there are holes on the right side for screws to make sure these devices don't move.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_31_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

It is easy to see how compact this chassis is once the ATX motherboard and HD 7950 are inside of it. Surprisingly enough, there were no issues getting things to fit, although we did have to go to a smaller CPU cooler this time. As for the wiring, we expected better, but with a tiny window, none of this is visible.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_32_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

No surprises in the back of the chassis either. The I/O plate snapped right in, the card was easy to align and secure, and the PSU lines right up and is easily screwed into place permanently.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_33_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To be honest, there was very little done on this side of the chassis as far as connectivity is concerned. We used a modular PSU with a short cable kit which helped tremendously with the build's tidiness, but if needed, there is room next to the HDD rack to create a rat's nest to hide wires.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_34_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the panels back on and components ready to run for the testing phase, we glance back at the T21. There is just a bit of the CPU cooler visible through the window, and we did not add a side fan, even though there was still room even with the side heat pipes on this specific video card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5844_35_thermaltake_urban_t21_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When power is added to the Urban T21, the right side of the chassis is where the LED lighting is, so in most cases this will be showing into a wall. But the bright blue LED for power and the red LED for HDD activity will definitely glow against the wall and be easily seen.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases