TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,453 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SilverStone EC05 Two Port SATA III PCI Express RAID Card Review

SilverStone EC05 Two Port SATA III PCI Express RAID Card Review
Need additional SATA 6Gbps storage connectivity for your PC? Then SilverStone has a low-cost solution for you to consider, and it includes RAID.
| RAID/HBA in Storage | Posted: Nov 1, 2013 10:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: SilverStone

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_99_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

With the last few chipset releases from Intel, there has been a lack of SATA III capable ports for connecting drives. To get around this, the most common solution was to add a PCI Express card capable of adding multiple ports.

 

The SilverStone EC05 is a Marvell based solution that enjoys the capability of adding two SATA III ports. In addition to this, the EC05 has RAID 0 and 1 capabilities, along with HyperDuo. Compatibility of the EC05 extends as far as Windows XP, Vista, 7 and 8. The SilverStone EC05 is warrantied for a period of one year.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_02_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.jpg

 

The EC05 is packaged in the standard plastic bubble packaging, which gives you a look at the card.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_03_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery for the EC05 includes both low profile and standard adapters, along with the software on disk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_04_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.jpg

 

Above, is a look at the card itself, the Marvell 9130 centered on the PCB. To the left, we have dual SATA III ports and the top the PCI Express 2.0 x 1 connection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_05_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

The software disk included with the EC05 includes both drivers and RAID utilities.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_06_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

Above, we get a look at the web utility for the Marvell controller. Within you can setup your RAID arrays, in addition to HyperDuo mode.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_07_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

Above we have a look at the EC05 in action, with a two drive RAID 0 array setup on dual Corsair Neutron SSDs. The EC05 was capable of delivering 463 MB/s read and 349 MB/s write at its peak.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_08_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

Here we have switched our Neutrons over to RAID 1. Here we again have great read performance at 440 MB/s, with write at a lower 150 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_09_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

Above, we have setup a two drive HyperDuo. Giving us the capacity of our 4TB HDD with the power of the Neutron to cache.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_10_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

 

Above, we have our results from the HyperDuo setup. Again, we max out read performance at 440 MB/s, while writes were slightly higher than our RAID 1 at 291 MB/s.

 

The EC05 from SilverStone combines the very popular and reliable Marvell 9130 offering an additional two ports of SATA III connectivity to any system builder. The overall build quality including the software solution is well put together, where I had no issues installing or using the EC05.

 

The performance of the EC05 left us wanting a bit more, especially in RAID 0 situations, but then again, if you're going for a full on performance solution, a true hardware RAID card would be the answer, but they cost a lot more. The main goal with the EC05 is to be a low-cost solution to add additional connectivity via SATA III and the card certainly provides on that front. Where the card lacks is in its PCI Express interface at 2.0 x 1, which limits the available bandwidth to 500 MB/s.

 

Pricing for the EC05 at the time of writing is set at $35.99 with no limit in availability.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5841_1234_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5841_100_silverstone_ec05_two_port_sata_iii_pci_express_raid_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases