TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,070 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts

Corsair Graphite Series 230T Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Corsair Graphite Series 230T Mid-Tower Chassis Review
The Graphite series gets a very unique edition, the 230T from Corsair. Follow as Chad dives in and takes a close look at this new case.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 31, 2013 6:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Corsair

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_28_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Halfway through the build, we removed the front bezel to install the ODD. Removing the bezel requires six clips to be released inside the chassis, then it is free and clear to come off for cleaning or removal of the bay covers, as we needed to do here. The wiring stays with the chassis and the bezel needs to be on prior to sliding the drive in.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_29_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Packaged back up, and with the DVD drive now in place, it seems to fit the design rather well. Placing things at the top and working down is best as not to break up that continuation of the large round circles that blend into the mesh panel below.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_30_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is plenty of room inside for any air cooled system, even those with multi-card setups. There is plenty of room for longer cards, and even enough room for a tall CPU cooler. Typically, I would have removed the HDD rack, but I wanted to show that even with the top drives pointing at the cards, there is still room to easily wire things up.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_31_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Out back of the 230T, we have no complaints either. The I/O dust shield snaps right in place, and the video card and PSU gave us no issues either. In fact, inside the 230T, my VGA is the straightest I have ever seen it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_32_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Wiring is easily done and took us very little time to get things where they need to be and tied down well enough to get the panels back on. While my first instinct was to run the 8-pin under the frame at the right, when I installed the panel, I realized it is in the way and needed routed away from that rail a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_33_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the panels back on the 230T and as we get ever closer to the testing phase, it only seemed fitting to take a look through the side window. It may be a slightly odd design, but it does offer a great view of the cooler, the cards, and the PSU at the bottom.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_34_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I do see now a bit more of a resemblance to the 600T with the way the front bezel has its overhang from the side and top panels, but with the 230T, it is less of an elegance thing, and has been replaced with a more industrial interpretation that is easily likeable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5839_35_corsair_graphite_series_230t_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once we powered the system, the bright glow of blue LED floods out of the mesh in the front of the chassis, and the power LED and activity light match, even though the activity light was not active at this exact moment.

 

Another surprise was the sheer silence around this chassis. It requires being within about six inches of the chassis to even start to pick up on the 25 dB noise level that the 230T and its trio of fans produces.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases