TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,453 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review - Benchmarks - Thunderbolt on OS X 10.8

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review
The 5Big line-up gets a Thunderbolt upgrade and the performance is astounding. Read on as we look at the 5Big Thunderbolt from LaCie.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Oct 30, 2013 2:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: LaCie

Benchmarks - Black Magic Design DST, Xbench and AJA System Test

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_26_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Within Mac OS X 10.8.5 we used a 5GB file size with Black Magic Design DST. Above, we have the results with the 5Big Thunderbolt in RAID 0 - this is truly mind blowing as we haven't seen Thunderbolt stretch it legs like this until now.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_27_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

RAID 1 results were pretty typical coming in at 219 MB/s read and 137 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_28_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

In our Xbench testing we found yet another hint of the performance of the LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt and just Thunderbolt as an interface for storage solutions. If we take a look at the results, you will notice the 5Big really excels in uncached sequential write with 4K blocks at 1158 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_29_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

RAID 1 results were pretty similar in Xbench as we saw with Blackmagicdesign DST.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_30_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

AJA System test is one of a few storage focused benchmarks for OS X. Here we have the 5Big Thunderbolt in RAID 0 streaming a 720p video file over 200 frames with read/write speed recorded for each frame.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_31_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Above, we have the same test run through with a 1080p video file over 200 frames. Notice we still have the same crash in throughput around frame 10-15, most likely due to the HDDs caching and the RAID overhead.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_32_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Above, we have the 720p test repeated with the 5Big in RAID 1. Notice how consistent this test run is compared to the heart monitor pace the RAID 0 was creating.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_33_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Again, with 1080p and RAID 1 this time around, the 5Big hold steady performance throughout the entire 200 frame series in writes.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases