TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,922 Reviews & Articles | 38,162 News Posts

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review - Benchmarks - Thunderbolt on OS X 10.8

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review

The 5Big line-up gets a Thunderbolt upgrade and the performance is astounding. Read on as we look at the 5Big Thunderbolt from LaCie.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Oct 30, 2013 2:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: LaCie

Benchmarks - Black Magic Design DST, Xbench and AJA System Test

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_26_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Within Mac OS X 10.8.5 we used a 5GB file size with Black Magic Design DST. Above, we have the results with the 5Big Thunderbolt in RAID 0 - this is truly mind blowing as we haven't seen Thunderbolt stretch it legs like this until now.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_27_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

RAID 1 results were pretty typical coming in at 219 MB/s read and 137 MB/s write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_28_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

In our Xbench testing we found yet another hint of the performance of the LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt and just Thunderbolt as an interface for storage solutions. If we take a look at the results, you will notice the 5Big really excels in uncached sequential write with 4K blocks at 1158 MB/s.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_29_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

RAID 1 results were pretty similar in Xbench as we saw with Blackmagicdesign DST.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_30_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

AJA System test is one of a few storage focused benchmarks for OS X. Here we have the 5Big Thunderbolt in RAID 0 streaming a 720p video file over 200 frames with read/write speed recorded for each frame.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_31_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Above, we have the same test run through with a 1080p video file over 200 frames. Notice we still have the same crash in throughput around frame 10-15, most likely due to the HDDs caching and the RAID overhead.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_32_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Above, we have the 720p test repeated with the 5Big in RAID 1. Notice how consistent this test run is compared to the heart monitor pace the RAID 0 was creating.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_33_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.png

 

Again, with 1080p and RAID 1 this time around, the 5Big hold steady performance throughout the entire 200 frame series in writes.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases