TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,251 Reviews & Articles | 40,790 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Cyanogen CEO: "Samsung couldn't build a good OS if they tried"

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review - Packaging and the 5Big Thunderbolt

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review
The 5Big line-up gets a Thunderbolt upgrade and the performance is astounding. Read on as we look at the 5Big Thunderbolt from LaCie.
| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Oct 30, 2013 2:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: LaCie

Packaging and the 5Big Thunderbolt

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_02_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The 5Big Thunderbolt is packaged with a clean professional exterior, a large image of the DAS is placed front and center with Intel's Thunderbolt logo proudly displayed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_03_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The outside of the accessories box doubles as the quick install guide.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_04_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Included with the 5Big Thunderbolt, you will find the power brick and software on disk, along with a single Thunderbolt cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_05_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The 5Big carries a professional look with its clean aluminium exterior, and much like the Drobo, a work of art for your desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_06_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The back of the LaCie holds all the drive bays which in turn have locking mechanisms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_07_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Taking a closer look at the I/O connections, here we have dual Thunderbolt ports, along with the proprietary power connection and on/off switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_08_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Within the 5Big Thunderbolt, we found five 2TB Seagate Barracuda hard drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_10_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

A curious sight for myself, where I found a Noctua 120mm fan controlling the cooling side of the enclosure. Noctua is renowned for their excellence in cooling silence.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases