TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,975 Reviews & Articles | 38,604 News Posts

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review - Packaging and the 5Big Thunderbolt

LaCie 5Big Thunderbolt 10TB DAS Review

The 5Big line-up gets a Thunderbolt upgrade and the performance is astounding. Read on as we look at the 5Big Thunderbolt from LaCie.

| SOHO NAS/DAS in Storage | Posted: Jan 1, 1970 12:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: LaCie

Packaging and the 5Big Thunderbolt

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_02_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The 5Big Thunderbolt is packaged with a clean professional exterior, a large image of the DAS is placed front and center with Intel's Thunderbolt logo proudly displayed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_03_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The outside of the accessories box doubles as the quick install guide.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_04_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Included with the 5Big Thunderbolt, you will find the power brick and software on disk, along with a single Thunderbolt cable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_05_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The 5Big carries a professional look with its clean aluminium exterior, and much like the Drobo, a work of art for your desktop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_06_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

The back of the LaCie holds all the drive bays which in turn have locking mechanisms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_07_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Taking a closer look at the I/O connections, here we have dual Thunderbolt ports, along with the proprietary power connection and on/off switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_08_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

Within the 5Big Thunderbolt, we found five 2TB Seagate Barracuda hard drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5834_10_lacie_5big_thunderbolt_10tb_das_review.jpg

 

A curious sight for myself, where I found a Noctua 120mm fan controlling the cooling side of the enclosure. Noctua is renowned for their excellence in cooling silence.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases