TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,052 Reviews & Articles | 38,921 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)

SilverStone CP06 SATA Power Connectors Review

SilverStone CP06 SATA Power Connectors Review
Have you heard of getting better storage performance from revised SATA power connectors? SilverStone has some new toys you might like.
| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Oct 29, 2013 6:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: SilverStone

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_99_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.png

 

Along with the constant supply of award winning chassis and power supplies, SilverStone also offers a complete range of accessories to keep your system build as clean and efficient as possible.

 

The original CP06 cables allowed system builders the capability to simplify and clean up there large drive arrays, with a 43mm spacing between each SATA connector. The next generation of these cables, the CP06-E series offered in both 2 and 4 connector models, offers a flexible cable design to help alleviate the stress at the power connector.

 

All CP06 cables feature dual 2200uf capacitors that offer stable power to all drives connected. The CP06 cables come in E2 and E4 models with pricing at $10.99 each with a one year warranty from SilverStone.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_02_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.jpg

 

The CP06 cables are packaged in plastic boxes, each with their own branding.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_03_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.jpg

 

Laying the cables out on the table, you can see the overall layout for each. The overall length of the cables is 194mm with spacing between the E4 model at 43mm and the E2 model at 17mm.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_04_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.jpg

 

Here we have removed the cover for the capacitors. You can see SilverStone has included dual 2200uf on both the 5v and 12v lines.

 

The test setup for the cables consisted of three Western Digital Black HDD and a single Corsair Neutron SSD. For testing, we connected all drives to a single four port SATA cable off our power supply, and subsequently the CP06 after which we ran a 256K sequential read and write workload on our SSD, at the 65 second mark we proceeded to initialize all three HDD's in read and write activity.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_10_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.png

 

Looking over our first chart of our 200 second run, we noticed the performance loss (in red) right at the 65 second mark using the standard SATA cables from our PSU. This is when all three WD Blacks started their read/write activity and pulling from the single rail on our PSU. If we look at the CP06 cables (in blue), you will notice the SSD takes no performance hit at all, thanks to the cables ability to absorb the power loss.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_11_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.png

 

During sequential write, the result is defined in a clearer manner, because solid state drives draw the most power during seq. write activity.

 

The SilverStone CP06 cables maintain a great deal of build quality, and at the same time can help and assist you in building a clean and customized PC. With the design change from the original CP06 to the new E series the most notable difference is the use of a flexible cable design. A feature like this should allow the utmost in cable management, while being able to connect power to all your available SATA devices.

 

When thinking of ways to test the power capabilities of these cables, I wasn't quite sure if anything would be able to show the capacitors at work. Much to my surprise, after running a number of tests and then the sequential read/write tests multiple times, the results came out in this exact manner every time. This gives some substance to the cables in that they do what they are advertised to do and in fact could help with performance issues in multiple drive situations.

 

Pricing at the time of writing is set at $10.99 for both the CP06-E2 and E4 and can be found at many online retailers.

 

TweakTown image 5/8/5829_1234_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/8/5829_100_silverstone_cp06_sata_power_connectors_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases