TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,134 Reviews & Articles | 39,399 News Posts

TRENDnet TL2-G244 24-Port Gigabit Layer 2 Switch Review - TRENDnet TL2-G244 Switch

TRENDnet TL2-G244 24-Port Gigabit Layer 2 Switch Review
The TL2-G244 is marketed to SMB users, but does it have the features and performance they desire? We take a look at TRENDnet's latest Layer 2 switch.
| Network Switches in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 28, 2013 1:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: TRENDnet

TRENDnet TL2-G244 Switch

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_01_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

Above, we have the box art with a wide angle shot of the switch. Below there are several key features listed such as the units 48Gbps switch fabric and support for SNMP, RSTP and MSTP.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_02_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

Unboxing the switch, we found it secured in foam at both ends. The remaining cables wrapped in plastic.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_03_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

The scope of delivery included the RS-232 cable for connecting to the management port, power cable and reading materials. Another thing of note here the TL2-G244 is rack-mountable and such has ears for doing so. Additionally, if you choose to set this on your desktop or table, it has rubber feet that can be attached.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_04_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

The front of the TL2-G244 houses all 28 ports. The last four Gbit ports share bandwidth with the GBICs to the far right.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_05_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

The back of the switch houses the AC input for the internal power supply and power switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_06_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

Internally, the G244 is laid out quite well. To the top left we have the power supply, and to the left the mainboard and accompanying daughter boards for the switch.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5827_07_trendnet_tl2_g244_24_port_gigabit_layer_2_switch_review.jpg

 

Removing all of the heat sinks, we can get a good look at what we have. To the top right we have a Marvell 98DX Packet Processor, moving down slightly we have an entire row of six Marvell Alaska 88E1340 Quad Port Transceivers.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases