TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,446 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

SanDisk X210 256GB Business Class SSD - Exploring Overprovisioning - 8K Random Read/Write

SanDisk X210 256GB Business Class SSD - Exploring Overprovisioning
SanDisk's release of its X210 caters to a growing market for SSDs tailored for read-centric applications. Today we look closely at overprovisioning. (NASDAQ:SNDK)
| Editorials in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 21, 2013 7:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: SanDisk

8K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_21_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

The 8K random precondition phase reaffirms the massive increase in write performance from utilizing extra OP (80% LBA).

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_22_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

8K random read and write speed is a metric that is not tested for consumer use, but for enterprise environments this is an important aspect of performance. Several workloads rely heavily upon 8K performance and we include this as a standard with each evaluation. Many of our Server Emulations below also test 8K performance with various mixed read/write workloads.

 

The average 8K random read speed of the X210 weighs in at 29,241 IOPS at 100% LBA, and with extra OP (80% LBA) we note an increase to 41,826 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_23_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

The average 8K random write speed of X210 jumps from 2,224 IOPS at QD256 to 9,290 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_24_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

The X210 exhibits the same increase in mixed 8K workloads that we witnessed with a 4K workload. The increased variability is hardly a concern when dealing with such a large increase in performance.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_25_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_26_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

Power consumption for the X210 averages 2.68 Watts with 100% LBA during the measurement window. The X210 actually pulls less power with extra overprovisioning, averaging only 2.54 Watts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5822_27_sandisk_x210_256gb_business_class_ssd_exploring_overprovisioning.png

 

100% LBA averages 829 IOPS per Watt, and experiences an improvement up to 3,675 IOPS per Watt with extra OP.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases