TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,136 Reviews & Articles | 39,421 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Fractal Design ARC XL Full-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Fractal Design ARC XL Full-Tower Chassis Review
If the elements of the ARC Mini or ARC Midi made a great impression, but didn't offer enough room, Fractal Design offers the cure with the ARC XL.
| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 23, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_31_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

To gain access to the removable bay covers, the front bezel needs to be removed. Once there you have access to the tabs that lock them all into the bezel. Also notice that the front I/O is still on the frame of the chassis with no wiring to deal with.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_32_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build fast forwarded to completion, we now see the ARC XL with the bezel back in place and it has the ODD added. The drive is flush with the face of the chassis and does not take away from the design since the bezel surrounds it with a mock brushed aluminum finish.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_33_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The inside of the chassis was gutted to show how much room is available for those using SSDs. There is plenty of room for a dual radiator in the front along with the pump and reservoir to sit there too. There is quite a bit of distance from the top to the motherboard for another radiator, and the ARC XL makes this ATX board look small.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_34_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Out here, the rear I/O shield snapped right into place, the PSU fits snug against the gasket at the bottom, and I did not have to flex the back of the chassis to align the video card screws.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_35_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I did need to rearrange the wiring, but connecting the fan controller and the chassis wiring is pretty simple, gets where it needs to, and is clean looking when tied up. Since this area is so deep, there is no issue getting the 2-pin along with a bunch of other wiring tied to it and still get the panel on without any conflicts.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_36_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the darkness of the tinted side window, it is difficult to see much behind the glass, if you will. What you are left with is a very similar thing to what came out of the box, and I really like that about certain chassis designs, this one included.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_37_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Using the power button to bring the ARC XL to life, you will immediately see the blue LED backlighting the power icon. What I wasn't able to time correctly was catching the red LED to its right flashing when the HDD was active.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5819_38_fractal_design_arc_xl_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since the lighting is on top, and the darkness of the window makes seeing a spinning fan more difficult, you would assume maybe some fan noise would let you know it was on. In this instance with the ARC XL, even to get an accurate measurement of the 29dB of noise from the fans, I had to be within six inches of the chassis to obtain it.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases