TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,094 Reviews & Articles | 39,126 News Posts

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review - iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review
Today we get a close-up look at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS trayless HDD cage. If you're looking for a cheap and easy way to add HDDs, check it out.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Oct 18, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: iStarUSA

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_07_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS. The front face is all aluminum with black anodized doors and silver accents from the machining process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_08_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Each of the three doors lock and each also has a LED to show drive activity. Another LED shows the system power status.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_09_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The specs sheet shows compatibility with SAS drives, but the connectors are missing the pins for wide port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_10_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

iStarUSA machined a recess for computer cases that have tabs between 5.25" drive slots.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_11_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The BPN-DE230SS shipped with an 80mm fan that keeps the HDDs cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_12_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we see the connectors for power and data. There are two SATA power connectors and three SATA/SAS data connectors. Two switches control the fan speed (low or high) and the front HDD LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_13_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The accessory package includes a paper manual, keys for the locking doors and three SATA cables.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases