TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,114 News Posts

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review - iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS Trayless HDD Cage Review

Today we get a close-up look at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS trayless HDD cage. If you're looking for a cheap and easy way to add HDDs, check it out.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Oct 18, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: iStarUSA

iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_07_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS. The front face is all aluminum with black anodized doors and silver accents from the machining process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_08_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Each of the three doors lock and each also has a LED to show drive activity. Another LED shows the system power status.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_09_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The specs sheet shows compatibility with SAS drives, but the connectors are missing the pins for wide port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_10_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

iStarUSA machined a recess for computer cases that have tabs between 5.25" drive slots.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_11_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The BPN-DE230SS shipped with an 80mm fan that keeps the HDDs cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_12_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

Here we see the connectors for power and data. There are two SATA power connectors and three SATA/SAS data connectors. Two switches control the fan speed (low or high) and the front HDD LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5811_13_istarusa_bpn_de230ss_trayless_hdd_cage_review.jpg

 

The accessory package includes a paper manual, keys for the locking doors and three SATA cables.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases