TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,002 Reviews & Articles | 38,745 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Intel's Core i7-5960X CPU has already been overclocked to 6.2GHz

Cooler Master HAF Stacker 915F Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master HAF Stacker 915F Chassis Review

As part of the HAF Stacker, we bring you the smaller 915F that allows for either a SFF chassis build, or the option to be a water cooling pedestal.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 15, 2013 12:45 pm
TweakTown Rating: 96%      Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_29_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front bezel will easily remove from the front of the chassis with just a gentle tug. This allows you to be able to remove the bay cover if needed, but will also offer you access to the PSU mounting and plugging in the power extension cable. It is also nice that the front I/O and wiring stay with the chassis and not the bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_30_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The power supply at the bottom of the chassis offers nothing out of the ordinary for the installation, and the PSU fits and mounts well into the 915F. Even though we are showing the optical drive in place, it needs to be removed to fit the bezel, and then the drive can slide in once the bezel is back on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_31_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of the chassis does not change much, and even with the DVD drive in place, it doesn't detract from the looks of the design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_32_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

This is a look inside of the chassis from the top of the 915F because with a video card installed, you can see very little through the conventional view through the left side of the chassis. There is plenty of room for wiring to be tended to, and there are locations at the top rails to tie wiring to as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_33_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The HD 7950 we use is larger than the usual dual slot cards, and we had no issues with it fitting inside of this chassis. The other nice thing is that you can easily tell there is plenty of room for even the larger PSUs to go in the front of the chassis, even with long video cards installed.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_34_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The one issue we found with this design is that the holes in the expansion slots do not line up with a card well at all. Compounding this issue is the fact that the power plug offsets the screwdriver, so even if you can get the screw in the hole by force, it is still tough screwing in at all.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_35_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side of the 915F is where you can have easy access to the hardware inside of the chassis. Wire management is slightly tougher with this completely open design, but we were still able to have good results with our build.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_36_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

If not for the DVD drive poking out of the front of the chassis, at this point where we have the build completed, there is nothing else aesthetically that changes. If you are planning to use this as a pedestal, the only changes you will notice then would be the screw heads in the right and left door panels.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5809_37_cooler_master_haf_stacker_915f_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the HAF Stacker is powered on, there is very little noise from the chassis fan in the rear of the case. We did test the fan prior to the build due to the noise that the stock Intel cooler and this PSU puts off, at that time there was a reading of 27 dB. With my build in play, we were dealing with something near 50 dB.

 

The red LED light denoting the system is powered is handy, but if used as a water cooling box, there will be no LED or use of most of the front I/O for that matter.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases