TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,096 Reviews & Articles | 39,129 News Posts

Thecus N4510U Rackmount NAS Review - Thecus N4510U NAS

Thecus N4510U Rackmount NAS Review
It's been a while since we published a rackmount NAS review, but with our multi-client office test proven, more product reviews are coming soon.
| Network Storage in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 15, 2013 2:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 97%Manufacturer: Thecus

Thecus N4510U NAS

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_11_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.png

 

Here we get our first look at the Thecus N4510U NAS. The front of the unit has a LCD display on the left side that swivels out to expose the fourth drive bay. Each drive sled is keyed so it can lock, a nice touch and impressive for a rackmount NAD that costs less than $600!

 

There are seven buttons on the front of the NAS. The first four are used in conjunction with the LCD display for easy navigation or to configure your NAS with a client PC. In the middle, next to the two USB 3.0 ports, is a locator button. This flashes a light on the back of the unit. I personally don't have a rack full of N4510U NAS, but if I did, trying to find a specific one on the back side would be difficult. The final two buttons are for power and to mute the internal buzzer that makes a distinct noise should anything go wrong with the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_12_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

Here we get a close up look at the display. I've tested NAS products without a display and before those tests, I always thought the display was an unneeded feature. It's not something you will use every day, but when you do need it, it's nice to have.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_13_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

The display swivels out to expose the last drive sled. Here you can see the drive sleds that Thecus provides. They do lock, which is a nice touch for enterprise products, even if they are just entry-level.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_14_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.png

 

Here we see the side of the N4510U. The included drive rails provide support for the back half of the NAS, while the front rack ears secure the front. The only downside is you can't install the NAS in a dense environment, without taking the sides off of the rack, and you can't slide the N4510U in and out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_15_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.png

 

The back of the NAS has a majority of the I/O connectivity. On the far left is a power supply that can be removed with just a couple of screws. I'm not sure who would run audio or video on a rackmount server, but the N4510U has 2.5mm audio as well as VGA and even HDMI connections. Four USB ports are on the back for printers and USP systems.

 

You may expect a 1U server to be loud, but the N4510U is actually quiet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_16_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

Two gigabit Ethernet ports are the primary connectors on the back for data I/O. The ports can run on separate networks or used together in a failover setup. 803.11AD is also supported for network teaming.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_17_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

Inside we found a nice tight build with every wire tucked away when it come could.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_18_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

There is a single 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM in one of two slots for RAM.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5798_19_thecus_n4510u_rackmount_nas_review.jpg

 

I'm not really sure what we could do with it, but there is an mSATA opening on the board. I've read about modding NAS from a few specialty forums and one of these days I may have to play around and see what I can accomplish with the N4510U.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases