TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,453 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

BeQuiet Shadow Rock 2 CPU Cooler Review
BeQuiet delivers us its newest cooler for testing. Come have a look at what the new Shadow Rock 2 offers.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 12, 2013 1:03 am
TweakTown Rating: 79%Manufacturer: BeQuiet

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_23_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I did run into an issue with the shape of this back plate. Since this plate is designed for Sockets 754 and 939, the sides are extended for those bolt patterns making the plate too big for the area allowed by ASUS. Never fear, I will get this plate in the vice and cut the wings off before we test this cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_24_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

To get here, you need to put the long screws through the plate and motherboard. It is at this point that you grab some pliers and snap the black C-clips into plate to hold the screws. Using the wrench if you want to, you can hold the lower nuts and use the Phillips head on the screw to tighten these into place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_25_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The legs also need applied to the base of the cooler. One thing to keep in mind with the Intel legs is that the bent sections of these legs should be lower than the base, not higher. The holes in these legs are also countersunk and if the screw heads aren't level with the plates when you are done, you are doing it wrong.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_26_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since the black clips don't allow the bolt and screw thingies to actually tighten all the way, you can still use the screw head behind the motherboard to tighten these final nuts as well. Three of them were easy to get to, but the top left corner is more of a pain to get to with such limited room around the VRMs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_27_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I guess I could have left the flame tips on the memory and shifted the fan way up on the cooler, but to split the distance above and below the fans to take advantage of what this fan provides, they did have to come off.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_28_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

It is easy to see that the fan covers all four slots, so shorter memory is advised. Even though the cooler sits over the slot nearest the CPU socket, with the cooler installed, I was able to get a stick in and out of that slot with ease - of course the fan has to be out of the way, but it is doable.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_29_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Backing up a bit to give a wider perspective from the top of the board, the Shadow Rock 2 can easily take on a second fan, while still leaving room to have an exhaust fan in the chassis as well. The one thing that gets challenging then is plugging in the 8-pin with the cooler installed with a push/pull configuration, and I would advise using an 8-pin adapter and plugging it in prior to the cooler installation for that situation.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5795_30_bequiet_shadow_rock_2_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and oriented the Shadow Rock 2 so that the name is placed properly. With it running just one fan, there is room to get the 8-pin plugged in, but it may be tight in some chassis designs. Even with what seems like a really large tower of fins, I had no issues populating the top PCI-e slot on this motherboard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases