TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,061 Reviews & Articles | 38,961 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Strap an iPad to your face with AirVR for mobile VR

Thermaltake Toughpower DPS 850-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review - Inside the Box

Thermaltake Toughpower DPS 850-Watt 80 PLUS Gold Power Supply Review
Thermaltake comes out swinging with its first digitally controlled power supply, the Toughpower DPS. Let's take a close look at how it performs.
| 80 PLUS Gold PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 9, 2013 8:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_10_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The power supply is protected by a full inch of foam on all sides of the power supply. If the power supply is damaged in shipping, it is going to have to be by someone who did it maliciously.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_11_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

The top features the I/O specification label and serial number for the DPS-850. Here we can get a good view of the semi-gloss black finish on the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_12_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Both sides are the same on the power supply and the red stripe wraps around the both sides and the front of the unit to keep the power supply from being just another black box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_13_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Flipping to the front of the unit, we find that all connectors are well labeled. Note that the USB connector is a standard style mini-USB. Unlike the Corsair units we've seen, there is no need for special cables or additional dongles. It just plugs directly into the headers on the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_14_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Everything is quite standard on the back of the power supply with the honeycomb mesh grill with AC input and on/off rocker switch. I'm not a fan of the Thermaltake logo right in the middle, as it restricts airflow.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_15_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

Taking a look at the bottom, we find a fan grill that is a bit different than what we've seen in the past. It is a welcome difference and helps with the unit's aesthetics quite a bit.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_17_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

All of the modular cables are fully sleeved.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5794_16_thermaltake_toughpower_dps_850_watt_80_plus_gold_power_supply_review.jpg

 

From left to right, Thermaltake includes the power cable, USB cable, rubber isolator mounts, zip ties, warranty pamphlet, mounting screws and user manual inside the box as well.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases