TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,668 Reviews & Articles | 36,029 News Posts

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review - Emailserver and Webserver

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review

Seagate's 4TB NAS HDD provides a direct competitor to the WD Red line from WD. We place them head-to-head to see which comes out on top.

| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 10, 2013 2:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Seagate

Emailserver

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_33_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Emailserver profile is a very demanding 8K test with a 50% read and 50% write distribution. This application is indicative of the performance of the solution in heavy write workloads.

 

The Seagate averages 131 IOPS, while the Red averages 151 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_34_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_35_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate averages 5 Watts, while the Red averages 6.35 Watts during the test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_36_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD averages 21.9 IOPS per Watt, while the Red averages 23.29 IOPS per Watt.

 

 

Webserver

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_37_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Webserver profile is a read-only test with a wide range of file sizes. Web servers are responsible for generating content for users to view over the internet, much like the very page you are reading. The speed of the underlying storage system has a massive impact on the speed and responsiveness of the NAS, and thus the end-user experience.

 

The Seagate NAS HDD averages 102 IOPS, and the Red averages 134 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_38_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_39_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD averages 5.19 Watts, while the Red averages a higher 7 Watts during the test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_40_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD closes out our testing with 5.19 Watts during the measurement window, while the Red averages 18.8 IOPS per Watt.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below