TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,210 Reviews & Articles | 40,193 News Posts

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review - 4K Random Read/Write

Seagate NAS 4TB HDD Enterprise Review
Seagate's 4TB NAS HDD provides a direct competitor to the WD Red line from WD. We place them head-to-head to see which comes out on top.
| HDDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Oct 10, 2013 2:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Seagate

4K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_10_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

Each QD for every parameter tested includes 300 data points (five minutes of one second reports) to illustrate the degree of performance variability. The line for each QD represents the average speed reported during the five-minute interval.

 

4K random speed measurements are an important metric when comparing drive performance, as the hardest type of file access for any storage solution to master is small-file random. One of the most sought-after performance specifications, 4K random performance is a heavily marketed figure.

 

The Seagate NAS HDD doesn't score as well as the WD Red in the random write test, scoring an average of 116 IOPS at QD256. The WD Red averages 147 IOPS in the 4K random write test.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_11_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate NAS HDD averages 103 IOPS, while the Red averages 136 IOPS at QD256.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_12_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

Our write percentage testing illustrates the varying performance of each solution with mixed workloads. The 100% column to the right is a pure write workload of the 4K file size, and 0% represents a pure 4K read workload.

 

The Seagate NAS HDD falls into the expected lower performance profile, but maintains a very tight performance profile. The WD Red is faster with random access, yet has variable performance across the board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_13_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

The Seagate HDD delivers 100% of its I/O in the 200-400ms range, while the Red delivers 79.1% of I/O's in the 200-400ms range, and 20.8% at 100-200ms.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_14_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

We record the power consumption measurements during our test run at QD256.

 

The Seagate averages 4.76 Watts, less than the Red, which averages 5.48 Watts during the measurement window.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_15_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5789_16_seagate_nas_4tb_hdd_enterprise_review.png

 

IOPS to Watts measurements are generated from data recorded during our test. The Seagate delivers an average of 31.4 IOPS per Watt for 4K random writes, and 26.4 IOPS per Watt for 4K random read access.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases