TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,141 Reviews & Articles | 39,476 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Corsair Force LS 240GB SSD Review - Corsair Force Series LS 240GB SSD

Corsair Force LS 240GB SSD Review
Corsair teamed up with Phison to add another level to the Force brand. The new Force LS uses Phison's S8 controller and Toshiba NAND flash.
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Oct 8, 2013 1:05 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Corsair

Corsair Force Series LS 240GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_03_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The turquoise and black package is my favorite from the Force series. Normally we try not to pick a favorite, but this color combination is really sharp. The front of the package gives us three feature bullet points and shows the 7mm z-height form factor. This is actually the first Force branded SSD from Corsair to get a 7mm case.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_04_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_05_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the box, we found a drive four screws for installation and a paper manual.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_06_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the new Force Series LS 240GB. The drive actually has 256GB of flash inside the case, but a portion of that is reserved for over-provisioning.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_07_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 7mm z-height form factor has the same mounting points as standard 9.5mm drives, so they fit well in notebooks.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_10_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside we found sixteen Toshiba Toggle NAND flash chips in a TSOP package. There are eight flash chips on each side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_11_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_12_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the Phison S8 controller with a PSC 512MB DRAM buffer as close to the controller as physically possible.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5785_13_corsair_force_ls_240gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Toshiba TSOP flash has less planes than Toshiba BGA flash, but it's cheaper to manufacture. All of the Phison controlled drives we've tested in a 2.5" form factor shipped with TSOP (the little fingers on the outside edge of the NAND flash).

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases