TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,915 Reviews & Articles | 38,111 News Posts

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the Obsidian 750D

Corsair Obsidian 750D Full-Tower Chassis Review

Corsair delivers a new chassis with speed of the build and ease of use as the priority, but still comes with Obsidian elegance.

| Full-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 4, 2013 2:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%      Manufacturer: Corsair

Inside the Obsidian 750D

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_14_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking inside the chassis for the first time, it is easier to get a sense of the layout I was describing earlier. Even with just a quick glance at this design, I can easily spot things that are going to make my life easier in the build process.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_15_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

This side of the optical bay drive cage has three clips in place to allow for tool-free mounting of the drives. If desired, there is the option to be backed up with screws on both sides.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_16_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The front of the case comes with two 140mm fans, but also offers holes for 120mm fans. At the floor there is a pair of the HDD cages to store up to six 3.5" drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_17_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you don't like them sitting side by side, there is also this manner of installing the cages. If there are no 3.5" drives in the build, you can also remove both cages and the plastic risers they are sitting on.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_18_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I was about to get the image from inside of the chassis looking at the roof, I held up the corner of the top mesh to show that it will peel right off and will flex around any screw heads, while the magnetic strip keeps it in place around the edges.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_19_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now looking at the roof from inside, found here is room for a pair of 140mm fans, or the option for three 120mm fans. The motherboard tray is also dropped sufficiently enough for thin radiators and fans to not cause issues with the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_20_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Taking a glance at the motherboard tray, there are things like the large CPU cooler opening, grommets in the wiring holes, and the lack of the need to install standoffs all going for it to help speed the install up. For those looking for a tidy finished product, there is plenty of room and tie points for that.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_21_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the 750D offers a large area to the left for the PSU, but offers nothing as far as pads to sit on. The right side is most of the way cleared out; as I plan to remove the pair of pedestals as well as the cages I have already pulled out.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_22_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Here is the third and final 140mm fan that Corsair supplied inside of the 750D. Another thing to point out is that the nine ventilates slot covers use thumbscrews to keep them and expansion cards in place.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_23_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

On the left side of the tray you can see four plastic racks, these will unclip. They come out to allow 2.5" drive installation, and then clip back into the steel frame. On the right, there is at minimum 20mm of room, and the door panel doesn't have to slide over the wiring to close, it shuts like a car door.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5774_24_corsair_obsidian_750d_full_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Outside of the three 3-pin power connection from the fans, this wiring is what you get. All blacked out, Corsair gives you the power, reset, HDD activity, power LED, native USB 3.0, USB 2.0 and HD Audio connection to make with the motherboard.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases