TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,198 Reviews & Articles | 40,002 News Posts

Buffalo LinkStation 420 8TB "Cloud" Storage Review - Packaging and the LinkStation 420

Buffalo LinkStation 420 8TB
Buffalo's LinkStation 420, offering capacities up to 8TB, provides a simple plug and play option for those not wanting to setup a diskless NAS.
| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Sep 27, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: Buffalo

Packaging and the LinkStation 420

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_03_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The LinkStation 420 arrives with colorful box art, similar to what we have found with the DriveStation DDR, which we reviewed a few months back. Marketing on the front of the box mentions 80 MB/s performance, along with capabilities of the unit as NAS storage with its RAID 1 data protection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_04_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Included with the LinkStation 420, we find a flat ethernet cable, power adapter, and user manual with software disk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_05_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The Buffalo LinkStation 420 is similar in appearance to the DriveStation series. On the front, we have the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_07_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

On the back of the appliance, we have a single Gigabit ethernet port with a USB 2.0 available as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_08_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The front of the LinkStation 420, after removed shows the drives houses in the drive trays.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_09_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Our LinkStation included dual Seagate Desktop HDDs in the 4TB capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_10_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Removing the casing from the LinkStation, we find the Marvell Armada 370 SoC next to 512MB of DRAM.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases