TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,926 Reviews & Articles | 38,178 News Posts

Buffalo LinkStation 420 8TB "Cloud" Storage Review - Packaging and the LinkStation 420

Buffalo LinkStation 420 8TB

Buffalo's LinkStation 420, offering capacities up to 8TB, provides a simple plug and play option for those not wanting to setup a diskless NAS.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Sep 27, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: Buffalo

Packaging and the LinkStation 420

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_03_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The LinkStation 420 arrives with colorful box art, similar to what we have found with the DriveStation DDR, which we reviewed a few months back. Marketing on the front of the box mentions 80 MB/s performance, along with capabilities of the unit as NAS storage with its RAID 1 data protection.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_04_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Included with the LinkStation 420, we find a flat ethernet cable, power adapter, and user manual with software disk.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_05_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The Buffalo LinkStation 420 is similar in appearance to the DriveStation series. On the front, we have the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_07_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

On the back of the appliance, we have a single Gigabit ethernet port with a USB 2.0 available as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_08_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

The front of the LinkStation 420, after removed shows the drives houses in the drive trays.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_09_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Our LinkStation included dual Seagate Desktop HDDs in the 4TB capacity.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5765_10_buffalo_linkstation_420_8tb_cloud_storage_review.jpg

 

Removing the casing from the LinkStation, we find the Marvell Armada 370 SoC next to 512MB of DRAM.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases